Home Uncategorized Leader of Down – Release New Single ‘Serial Killjoy’ Featuring Würzel (Ex Motörhead)

Leader of Down – Release New Single ‘Serial Killjoy’ Featuring Würzel (Ex Motörhead)

7 min read
Comments Off on Leader of Down – Release New Single ‘Serial Killjoy’ Featuring Würzel (Ex Motörhead)

The brainchild of Grammy nominated former Motörhead guitarist Würzel and bass player Tim Atkinson who after forming the band Leader of Down in 2008 busied themselves in a London rehearsal studio writing dozens of tracks in preparation for recording an album. They then recruited drummer, Steve Clarke (Ex Fastway) to join the ranks and continue preparing for the debut album “Cascade Into Chaos”.

The name Leader of Downcame from Würzel mishearing the lyrics to the Status Quo track “Down, Down”. Würzel found this extremely funny as he had been singing the wrong words “Down Down, Leader of Down” for over 30 years.

“Cascade into Chaos”is named after a phrase that Würzel and Tim liked during the initial song writing sessions, it seemed a very obvious choice and was the only title that the two of them ever really discussed.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDLLEAi__CU&w=560&h=315]

The band started recording the initial tracks for the album which included a reworking of Würzel’s solo release from the 80’s “People say I’m Crazy” .

After Würzel’s tragic death in 2011 the band continued to finish the album and enlisted the help of some friends to honour the great man. With guest appearances from Motörhead legends Lemmy, Phil Campbell and Fast Eddie Clarke who has also sadly passed away beginning of this year, also Whitfield Crane (Ugly Kid Joe), Lee Richards (ex Godsmack), Bruce Foxton (The Jam) and Cliff Evans from Tank.

The album features 10 blockbusting tracks, all mixed by Motörhead Grammy winning producer Cameron Webb at Maple Studios in California.

The album is of course a tribute to Würzel and the other fallen Motörhead heroes but it is also just the beginning for Leader of Down who after a successful appearance at Hard Rock Hell are embarking on a successful tour with Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons in November 2018, and will be very busy next year with live shows already planned. Leader of Down have signed a worldwide deal with Los Angeles based label Cleopatra Records.

As Lemmy once shouted from the stage at Hammersmith Odeon, shortly after Würzel and Phil Campbell joined, “ Well, are we back”? We can safely say that Würzel is back, we just wish that he was with us for the ride.

Track listing 

  1. Paradise Turned Into Dust ( Lemmy vocals, additional bass  Tim Atkinson)

  2. Cascade Into Chaos

  3. People Say I’m Crazy

  4. Serial Killjoy (Bruce Foxton on additional bass with Tim Atkinson)

  5. Children of Disease (Whitfield Crane vocals, Lee Richards and Richards/ Crane) backing vocals, Phil Campbell 2nd guitar solo)

  6. Snakebite (Fast Eddie Clarke all guitars and vocals)

  7. Punch and Geordie

  8. Feel Good (Cliff Evans first guitar solo)

  9. The Killing Rain (The last song Würzel ever recorded)

  10. Laugh at the Devil  (Lemmy vocals and all guitars by Fast Eddie Clarke)

Tim Atkinson  (Bass player and Co -founder of Leader of Down) 
“It is a very bittersweet feeling now that the album is being released. It feels very strange without Würzel being here, and I know he would be thrilled with the final result. It was a real pleasure writing with Würzel ,as we instinctively knew what both of us were thinking when we put our ideas forward. We always wanted Lemmy to sing on Paradise turned into Dust, and it was a very emotional session in Los Angeles when Lemmy completed the track and I just wish that Würz had been there to see it. It was amazing that so many friends helped us to finish the album with guest appearances and I can only thank them from the bottom of my heart. To hear Phil playing with Würzel again was absolutely fantastic”.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Uncategorized
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Album Review : Amaranthe – The Catalyst

The Swedish troop are back with album number seven, this is a concept album exploring the …