Home News Status Quo announce their first studio album without Rick Parfitt

Status Quo announce their first studio album without Rick Parfitt

5 min read
Comments Off on Status Quo announce their first studio album without Rick Parfitt

Status Quo have announced their 33rd studio album ‘Backbone’ – their first long-player not to feature the late-great Rick Parfitt in any way.

Released on Friday 6th September 2019 via earMUSIC / Edel, the album features 11 new songs that were recorded at Francis Rossi’s studio in the closing months of 2018 and into early 2019.

Three of the songs on ‘Backbone’ were penned by the classic song-writing partnership of Francis Rossi and Bob Young, with the other members of Status Quo chipping in on the other tracks.

Francis Rossi explained that with the untimely passing of Rick Parfitt in December 2016, the album had to be great otherwise it wouldn’t have seen the light of day.

“This new material had to be seriously good,” Francis said. “Quo have achieved so much and meant so much to too many people for the quality to slip now. Also, let’s face it, things have changed and we’re an easier target than ever.

“Losing Rick was hard to bear but, through Richie Malone, who was inspired to pick up a guitar by him, we can not only keep going but actually pick up the pace.

“The energy that he and Leon (Cave, drums) bring to Quo can’t be underestimated. I wasn’t sure I had another album in me but I couldn’t be more proud of ‘Backbone’. I hope the fans love it, but you can’t please everyone and I’m not going to start trying to now”.

Available to pre-order right here, ‘Backbone’ is released on the following formats:

– Ltd. 1CD Digipak (including 2 bonus songs)
– 1CD Jewelcase (11 songs)
– 1LP+Download [Gatefold ] (LP: 11 Songs / DWL Card: 13 Songs (incl. 2 bonus songs) 
– Limited Edition Box Set (1CD Digipak, Live-Bonus CD recorded during Status’ Quo’s ‘The Last Night Of The Electrics’ tour, Status Quo Collector’s T-Shirt)

The album artwork and track-listing is as follows:

1. Waiting For A Woman
2. Cut Me Some Slack
3. Liberty Lane
4. See You’re in Some Trouble
5. Backing Off
6. Wanna Run Away With You
7. Backbone
8. Better Take Care
9. Falling Off The World
10. Get Out Of My Head
11. Running Out Of Time

Don’t forget, Status Quo are the very special guests on Lynyrd Skynyrd’s farewell arena tour at the end of this month. Select tickets are on sale from Planet Rock Tickets now.

See Lynyrd Skynyrd and Status Quo at the following shows:

JUNE 2019
Glasgow The SSE Hydro – Wed 26th
Manchester Arena – Thu 27th
London The SSE Arena Wembley – Sat 29th
Birmingham Resorts World Arena – Sun 30th

>> Click here to buy tickets <<

Back in March, Francis Rossi released ‘We Talk Too Much’, a collaborative album with vocalist Hannah Rickard whom he had worked with on the ‘Aquostic’ projects.

The day before the album, Francis’ autobiography ‘I Talk Too Much’ hit the shops. He completed an extensive ‘in conversation’ tour last month.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

SEPULTURA | announce 40 years farewell European tour ‘Celebrating Life Through Death’

"Sepultura has reached the end of the road and has chosen to depart via a conscious and pl…