Home News Stone Temple Pilots – Celebrate 25 Years of Iconic Album ‘Purple’ With Super Deluxe Edition

Stone Temple Pilots – Celebrate 25 Years of Iconic Album ‘Purple’ With Super Deluxe Edition

8 min read
Comments Off on Stone Temple Pilots – Celebrate 25 Years of Iconic Album ‘Purple’ With Super Deluxe Edition

When Stone Temple Pilots returned to the studio in 1994 to record the band’s second album, the quartet was facing the high expectations set by its debut Core(1992), which sold more than eight million copies and earned a Grammy®Award. The release of Purpleon June 7, 1994 would cement their place as one of the definitive bands of their generation as the album debuted at #1 on the Billboard album chart on its way to selling more than six million copies.

Today – on the eve of the 25th anniversary of the album’s debut – Rhino announces the upcoming release of a newly remastered version of Purple that is expanded with rare and unreleased studio and live recordings.

PURPLE: SUPER DELUXE EDITION will be available on September 13 for $64.98. The 3-CD/1-LP set includes a newly remastered version of the original studio album on both CD and vinyl, plus unreleased versions of album tracks and rarities, along with an unreleased full concert recording from 1994. On the same day, the music will be made available both digitally and as a 2-CD Deluxe Edition. The previously unreleased acoustic version of “Big Empty” is now available digitally. Click here is listen now.

A limited edition bundle of the PURPLE: SUPER DELUXE EDITON is now available to pre-order at www.stonetemplepilots.comwhich includes a bonus replica 7-inch vinyl single of “Interstate Love Song” that was originally released in the UK in 1994. This exclusive bundle is limited to 1,000 copies.

Scott Weiland, Dean DeLeo, Robert DeLeo and Eric Kretz recorded most of Purplein Atlanta with producer Brendan O’Brien. The album features some of the group’s most iconic tracks, including “Interstate Love Song” and “Vasoline” – which both topped the Mainstream Rock chart in 1994.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ht672-wYelc?start=3&w=560&h=315]

PURPLE: SUPER DELUXE EDITION explores the making of the album with a mix of unreleased music that includes demos (“Unglued” and “Army Ants”) and early versions of album tracks (“Meat Plow” and Interstate Love Song”), plus acoustic recordings (“Big Empty”). The collection also features three unreleased live performances from the 1994 KROQ Acoustic Christmas show, including a version of “Christmastime Is Here” from A Charlie Brown Christmas. Perhaps the biggest surprise of the new collection, however, is STP’s previously unreleased demo of “She Knows Me Too Well,” a song the Beach Boys originally recorded in 1965.

PURPLE: SUPER DELUXE EDITION closes with a previously unreleased recording of the band’s August 23, 1994 concert in New Haven, Connecticut. The electrifying 17-song performance captures the band in top form with both electric and acoustic sets, featuring 10 songs from Purplealong with hits from Core (“Plush” and “Sex Type Thing”) and covers (David Bowie’s “Andy Warhol” and Woody Guthrie’s “Gypsy Davy”).

Stone Temple Pilots tour Europe throughout June 2019. The band will then launch a co-headlining U.S. tour with Rival Sons on September 13 in Baltimore that will see the two bands performing on intimate stages including The Met Philadelphia, Ford Amphitheater in New York City, The Fillmore New Orleans and more, before wrapping October 9 in San Diego. Please see full itinerary below.

3CD/1LP Track Listing

Disc One: Purple 2019 Remaster

  1. “Meat Plow”

  2. “Vasoline”

  3. “Lounge Fly”

  4. “Interstate Love Song”

  5. “Still Remains”

  6. “Pretty Penny”

  7. “Silvergun Superman”

  8. “Big Empty”

  9. “Unglued”

  10. “Army Ants”

  11. “Kitchenware & Candybars”

Disc Two: Early Versions, Demos & Acoustic

  1. “Meat Plow” – Early Version *

  2. “Interstate Love Song” – Early Version *

  3. “Big Empty” – Acoustic Version *

  4. “Unglued” – Demo *

  5. “Army Ants” – Demo *

  6. “Kitchenware & Candybars” – Demo *

  7. “Dancing Days”

  8. “She Knows Me Too Well” – Demo *

  9. “Interstate Love Song” – Acoustic Version *

Live At KROQ Acoustic Christmas 1994 

  1. “Pretty Penny” – Acoustic Version *

  2. “Kitchenware & Candybars” – Acoustic Version *

  3. “Christmastime Is Here” – Acoustic Version *

Disc Three: Live at New Haven Vererans Memorial Coliseum, New Haven, CT, August 23, 1994 

  1. “Vasoline” *

  2. “Silvergun Superman” *

  3. “Crackerman” *

  4. “Lounge Fly” *

  5. “Meat Plow” *

  6. “Still Remains” *

  7. “Gypsy Davy” *

  8. “Pretty Penny” *

  9. “Creep” *

  10. “Andy Warhol” *

  11. “Army Ants” *

  12. “Big Empty” *

  13. “Interstate Love Song” *

  14. “Plush” *

  15. “Unglued” *

  16. “Dead & Bloated” *

  17. “Sex Type Thing” *

* previously unreleased

Bonus “Interstate Love Song” 7-inch
Included with www.stonetemplepilots.compreorder, limited edition of 1,000 units

Side 1
“Interstate Love Song”

Side 2
“Lounge Fly”

Stone Temple Pilots European Tour Dates 2019

Wed 12thJune 2019            O2 Academy, Glasgow UK
Thurs 13thJune 2019           O2 Forum Kentish Town, London UK
Sat 15thJune 2019              Download Festival, Donington UK
Mon 17thJune 2019                        Astra Kulturhaus, Berlin GERMANY
Wed 19thJune 2019            Grona Lund Tivoli, Stockholm SWEDEN
Thurs 20thJune 2019           Copenhell Festival, Copenhagen DENMARK
Fri 21stJune 2019               Graspop Metal Meeting, Dessel BELGIUM
Sun 23rdJune 2019             Hellfest Festival, Clisson FRANCE
Tues 25thJune 2019                        Live Music Hall, Cologne GERMANY
Wed 26thJune 2019            Batschkapp, Frankfurt GERMANY
Thurs 27thJune 2019           Konzertfabrik Z7, Pratteln SWITZERLAND
Sat 29thJune 2019              Download Festival, Madrid SPAIN


Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Gig Review : Riverside / Klone – Limelight, Belfast

Warsaw, Poland’s progressive masters Riverside have embarked on the final leg of their tou…