Home News Blue Öyster Cult to release first album in 19 years in 2020

Blue Öyster Cult to release first album in 19 years in 2020

5 min read
Comments Off on Blue Öyster Cult to release first album in 19 years in 2020

Long Island classic rock legends Blue Öyster Cult will release their first studio album in almost two decades in 2020.

Taking to their official Facebook page this afternoon, Blue Öyster Cult confirmed they have penned a new record deal with Italian imprint Frontiers Music Srl (WhitesnakeUriah Heep, Quiet Riot) and they will release the follow-up to June 2001’s ‘Curse of the Hidden Mirror’ next year.

Alongside long-standing members Eric Bloom (vocals, guitar) and Buck Dharma (lead guitar), the album will be the first Blue Öyster Cult long-player to feature bassist Danny Miranda, keyboardist/guitarist Richie Castanello and drummer Jules Radino.

Eric Bloom enthuses: “It’s been a long time since BÖC’s last studio album. Our biggest question from fans is ‘when are we going to do some new music?’ So we are ready to take this journey again.

“Recording with Danny, Richie and Jules should be a great experience as we’ve been touring together for years and Buck (Dharma, lead guitar) and I are looking forward to including them in the creative and recording process.”

Buck Dharma adds: “The current band is GREAT and has never been recorded other than the live concerts, so we feel now is the time for new songs to be written and recorded. About half of the songs for the new record exist and the rest will be finished during the process.”

Waxing lyrical about their new signing, Frontiers Records President Serafino Perugino said: “We are delighted to be able to bring back the iconic Blue Öyster Cult with the release of a wealth of musical material that will certainly please all the fans.

“Hard Rock music would not be what is now without BÖC and Frontiers is their natural ‘home’. We look forward to a long and fruitful cooperation!”

Alongside the new album, Blue Öyster Cult are also reissuing newly remastered versions of the following four albums:

1. Cult Classic (originally released in 1994)
2. Heaven Forbid (originally released in 1998) [Not available for North / South America] 3. Curse of the Hidden Mirror (originally released in 2001) [Not available for North / South America] 4. A Long Day’s Night (Live CD/DVD and Blu Ray) originally released in 2002 – Blu Ray version to be released for the first time)

There will also be five new live releases from Blue Öyster Cult:

1. Live show from the iHeart Radio Theater 2012 (40th Anniversary).
2. Live show from Hard Rock Casino Cleveland 2014
3. Live show from Rock of Ages Festival in Germany 2016
4. 40th Anniversary of “Agents of Fortune” shot in L.A. in April 2017 [ “Agents of Fortune” album played front to back] 5. BӦC 45th Anniversary show Live in London June 17th 2017 [includes BÖC first album played in its entirety back to back]

Blue Öyster Cult last toured the UK in February and March 2019 with very special guests The Temperance Movement.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Arielle: ‘Reel to Real’ Album Launch – Marshall Amplification Factory, Milton Keynes.

This one is a little bit different, and very special. MPM Tog ‘Statler’ Manson and myself …