Home News SEVEN SPIRES – ‘Succumb’ : first single from new album by US metal act fronted by Adrienne Cowan / album out 14.02.20 (Frontiers)

SEVEN SPIRES – ‘Succumb’ : first single from new album by US metal act fronted by Adrienne Cowan / album out 14.02.20 (Frontiers)

7 min read
Comments Off on SEVEN SPIRES – ‘Succumb’ : first single from new album by US metal act fronted by Adrienne Cowan / album out 14.02.20 (Frontiers)
Seven Spires is an American metal quartet who draw influence from across the metal spectrum and beyond to tell their tales of demons, death, love and the peculiarities of the human condition. ‘Emerald Seas’ is their second album and is a highly emotional, dark and theatrical epic.
Released via Frontiers, the band have joined the label’s rapidly expanding metal roster. 
For the first single from the record, vocalist Adrienne Cowan states: “‘Succumb’ was written in Boston while we were attending college at Berklee. It began as vocals and piano, and we fleshed out the rest of the arrangement together. 
[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l10HOohy1Eo&w=560&h=315]
Everyone has their own experiences and will interpret the lyrics in their own way, but in the story of ‘Emerald Seas’ the main character has departed on a long journey and is indulging in memories of someone special instead of focusing on their quest. It’s a bittersweet one… but aren’t they all?” 
As hinted above, ‘Emerald Seas’ itself is a theatrical concept work and is the prequel to the story of the band’s debut full-length release, ’Solveig’. It follows a lone sea captain on his quest for eternal life while being hunted by an ancient beast and struggling with loneliness, sacrifice, alcoholism and the unexpected weight that comes with achieving one’s goals.
Seven Spires’ signature blend of melancholic beauty and emotional brutality on ‘Emerald Seas’ is the sonic manifestation of the silent emptiness that can chill the insides when staring across bleak, open waters.
Discussing the influences behind the album, the band have drawn on “our usual mix of melodic and extreme metal favourites and Hans Zimmer worship.
We immersed ourselves deeply in 19th Century Romantic music and art while writing this record, and we like to think that some traits from that era are present as a result.
It’s highly emotional; sweet and melodic at times, and quite dark and brutal at others, especially when dealing with themes like losing one’s fear of death.
As with their debut, ‘Emerald Seas’ is a collaboration with Sascha Paeth (Avantasia, Kamelot, Epica), who mixed and mastered the album.
Incidentally, Adrienne Cowan was recently handpicked by Paeth to front his band Sascha Paeth’s Masters Of Ceremony and is also one of the touring vocalists for
the hugely popular Avantasia.
Touring with these acts has mostly influenced my live singing and performance style,” she explains. “It has been an incredibly inspiring experience to be a part of these groups where everyone is a long-standing master of their craft and of their artistic selves.
Seven Spires will promote ‘Emerald Seas’ with extensive touring. 35 US and Canadian dates with Insomnium and Omnium Gatherum are already in the diary for March and April 2020, followed by a similar number of shows with Amaranthe and Battle Beast in August and September.
Seven Spires met while studying at the world renowned Berklee College of Music in Boston. Following a successful crowdfunding campaign and self-release of their debut album, the group toured extensively in the US and Canada and performed at festivals such as MetalDays, 70,000 Tons of Metal and ProgPower USA.
Adrienne Cowan possesses a voice that ranges from the beautiful to the demonic, while her bandmates Jack Kosto (guitar), Peter de Reyna (bass) and Chris Dovas (drums) weave intricate musical spells to accompany the lyrical tales presented on ‘Emerald Seas’.
The band help to maintain the Frontiers tradition of identifying and signing the most promising young acts to ensure that the future of hard rock and metal music is in good hands. 
album pre-order / single streaming link
1  Igne Defendit
2  Ghost Of A Dream
3  No Words Exchanged
4  Every Crest
5  Unmapped Darkness
6  Succumb
7  Drowner Of Worlds
8  Silvery Moon
9  Bury You
10  Fearless
11  With Love From The Other Side
12  The Trouble With Eternal Life
13  Emerald Seas Overture
Mixed by Sascha Paeth
Mastered by Miro
Adrienne Cowan – vocals, keyboards
Jack Kosto – guitar
Peter de Reyna – bass
Chris Dovas – drums
Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Gig Review : Decapitated – Nihility Anniversary Tour Obscura/Inferi/The Materia Limelight, Belfast

Well, if ever there was a death metal bill of the year in Belfast, this is without doubt i…