Home News NOVENA – ‘Sun Dance’ : new single & video / from debut album by UK prog metal/rock act out 06.03.20 on Frontiers

NOVENA – ‘Sun Dance’ : new single & video / from debut album by UK prog metal/rock act out 06.03.20 on Frontiers

5 min read
Comments Off on NOVENA – ‘Sun Dance’ : new single & video / from debut album by UK prog metal/rock act out 06.03.20 on Frontiers
UK prog metal/rock act Novena have today released the song ‘Sun Dance’ as a new single.
Taken from their forthcoming debut album, ‘Eleventh Hour’, it also boasts a video, of which the band state check it out below.
[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npOpc8udtGU&w=560&h=315]
The product of a close collaboration with The Cathy Waller Dance Company and filmmaker Neil Monaghan, it is a passionate, dynamic and intense piece of contemporary
dance, at once romantic as it is violent, telling the story of two colossal forces intertwined in a battle of wills.
With soaring harmony vocals, an infectious rolling groove, and melodic guitar lines, ‘Sun Dance’ shows off another aspect of what to expect from ‘Eleventh Hour’, which is released on 6th March via Frontiers.
Novena established themselves on the UK and international prog scenes in 2016 with the release of their widely praised experimental EP ‘Secondary Genesis’. Boasting the unmatchable voice of Ross Jennings (HAKEN) and inimitable poetry of Gareth Mason (Slice The Cake), the blistering guitar work of Dan Thornton (ex-HAARP Machine, ex-No Sin Evades His Gaze) and invariably musical drumming of Cameron Spence (Ravenface), plus the expressive and versatile bass playing of Moat Lowe (Slugdge, ex-NSEHG) and the complex and nuanced compositions of guitarist/keyboardist Harrison White, the band always delivers something greater than the sum of its parts.
Novena’s music moves from the profound to the profane, from the fragile to the unforgiving, and from the introspective to the utterly destructive, exploring a plethora of different genres along the way. Despite this, every song on ‘Eleventh Hour’ has a solid and personal identity with memorable choruses. The band state that “some songs took years of careful tinkering, while others were written in one sitting during an insomniatic delirium.
The aesthetic was always designed to serve the story. Whatever the song wanted, we gave it.Lyrically, they describe the album as “an exploration of twilight, a dance in the space between life and death, a collection of swan songs from people real or imagined. Something that connects us all as human beings is the inevitability of death, and yet we all have our own totally unique experiences of it.
Those who have experienced it can never share their stories. Those who have not, cannot contemplate it; all we can do is ask questions and tell stories. ‘Eleventh Hour’ follows the last days of several characters who, whilst separated by space and time, are connected by something greater.
1  22:58
2  22:59
3  Sun Dance
4  Disconnected
5  Sail Away
6  Lucidity
7  Corazón
8  Indestructible
9  The Tyrant
10  Prison Walls
Ross Jennings – vocals
Gareth Mason – vocals
Harrison White – guitar, keyboards
Dan Thornton – guitar
Moat Lowe – bass
Cameron Spence – drums
Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Arielle: ‘Reel to Real’ Album Launch – Marshall Amplification Factory, Milton Keynes.

This one is a little bit different, and very special. MPM Tog ‘Statler’ Manson and myself …