Home News MISERY SIGNALS announce new album and release video for ‘The Tempest

MISERY SIGNALS announce new album and release video for ‘The Tempest

8 min read
Comments Off on MISERY SIGNALS announce new album and release video for ‘The Tempest

Original metalcore pioneers MISERY SIGNALS return with their brand new album Ultraviolet, due for release on 7th August 2020 via Basick Records. The forthcoming record marks their first full-length release in seven years, and first with founding vocalist Jesse Zaraska since their 2004 debut, Of Malice and the Magnum Heart.

MISERY SIGNALS have also revealed a video for first single ‘The Tempest’, an in-your-face statement of intent that’s powerful and hook-laden in equal measure.

Check out the video for ‘The Tempest’ below.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8nGljoS_cY&w=560&h=315]

Commenting on the new track, lead guitarist Ryan Morgan states, “‘The Tempest’ feels like a concentrated dose of MISERY SIGNALSI love that it crashes through with all this energy, with very little indulging. That type of songwriting economy was in my mind across this whole album. It’s interesting to hear a little bit of restraint work to actually make everything bigger.” 

Pre-order Ultraviolet on vinyl here: https://basick.supplies/collections/misery-signals

Pre-save the album on Spotify/Apple here: https://orcd.co/miserysignalsultraviolet

The most effective, connective and inspired creative expression often comes from those who’ve abandoned all aspirations beyond the art for the art’s sake. At a time when the vast majority of the so-called “scene” is obsessed with careerist goals, popularity and time-tested formulas, MISERY SIGNALS have reemerged from self-imposed hibernation to once again remake the rules and reassert the inherent power of true passion.

Over fifteen years since their initial formation, the Midwestern musical collective remains driven by determination, resilience and the urgent need to share their work with their enduringly diehard supporters.


MISERY SIGNALS‘ 2014 reunion tour, celebrating the ten year anniversary of their debut album Of Malice and the Magnum Heart, sparked a flame among the original members.

Despite facing initial challenges, the band ultimately felt healed by the experience of reuniting, and following their Yesterday Is Everything documentary they set to work on their new album. Marking the return of all founding members, Ryan Morgan (guitar), Branden Morgan (drums), Jesse Zaraska (vocals), Stu Ross (guitar) and Kyle Johnson (bass), the band spent the last few years writing and recording one of their finest releases yet and a true return to form, drawing on a resuscitated storm of creativity and camaraderie not witnessed since Of Malice and the Magnum Heart.

“Jesse has this really clear voice, and even in his most vicious screaming the vulnerability gets through first,” says Morgan“People will hear the record and there won’t be any need for decoding the emotional content. ‘Sunlifter’ was the first song we wrote for the record and it set the tone thematically for the lyrics on the album, which came to be about ambition and striving and all the parts of ourselves that are in contradiction with each other.” 

Zaraska comments on the lyrical direction of the album, “It is a record that purveys a much greater sense of hope than those that preceded it, and I think that as older individuals this was important from the onset of the process. I tried to create a MISERY SIGNALS record that was lyrically more positive than the previous outings, something that I could get behind as a father. Though there still exists a fair amount of tension and darkness, there shines a great amount more light.”

MISERY SIGNALS are the type of group who inspire questions about time signatures and musical gear rather than hairstyles or love lives. Their combination of progressive, technical and atmospheric riffage with melodic prowess, impassioned frenzy and unhinged rock ‘n’ roll edge helped define part of the New Wave Of American Heavy Metal, a sub-genre that includes the commercially successful likes of All That RemainsKillswitch Engage and Lamb Of God.

The transcendent experimentalism of Deftones, the mind-bending pulse of Meshuggah, the power of seminal metalcore masters Shai Hulud, and the adventurously dynamic engagement of “thinking man’s metal” band Cave In all exist within the unique blueprint MISERY SIGNALS have pioneered for themselves.

The fact that MISERY SIGNALS have thrived on tours with peers ranging from Between The Buried And Me and The Dillinger Escape Plan to Norma Jean and Emmure speaks volumes as to the band’s singularly broad appeal.

Leaders and not followers, innovators and not imitators, MISERY SIGNALS have built a catalogue of stunningly complete sounding albums, including Absent  light (2013), Controller (2008), Mirrors (2006) and Of Malice and the Magnum Heart (2004). MISERY SIGNALS still deliver their boundary pushing music, continuing to fly the flags for authenticity, audience/band communal experience, old-school DIY ethics and impressively unwavering artistic bravery.

For more information:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Gig Review : Nick Mason’s Saucerful of Secrets Set the Controls Tour 2024The Royal Concert Hall Nottingham

Pink Floyds human metronome, Nick Mason brings his Saucerful of Secrets to Nottingham for …