Home News The Rocket Dolls – Focus Track “The Clear Light Of Self Hatred

The Rocket Dolls – Focus Track “The Clear Light Of Self Hatred

5 min read
Comments Off on The Rocket Dolls – Focus Track “The Clear Light Of Self Hatred

Brighton rock trio The Rocket Dolls are thrilled to celebrate the release of their new album The Art Of Disconnect today. To coincide with the album release, the band will launch the focus track The Clear Light Of Self-Hatred, which you check out below.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNAR5hHxCfc&w=560&h=315]

The track is a kaleidoscopic number that drives inspiration from a variety of rock sub-genres. Imagine what would happen if pop-punk married grunge and had a not-so-secret affair with both anthemic rock and Dave Grohl … the result would be The Clear Light Of Self Hatred.

Front-man Nikki Smash comments: “The song is about the false realities and distorted truths that people project under a rose-tinted filter on social media. The larger than life personalities papering over their own insecurities and self-hatred, with doctored images and hollow metaphors. We live in a world where people feel the pressure to put their best face online and this song serves as a warning of the perils of falling into this trap.

The release of The Art Of Disconnect is the living embodiment of how the rock music and the rock community are very much alive. The story behind the record sees The Rocket Dolls being one of the many bands affected by the PledgeMusic crisis. Undeterred, the band re-launched the fund-raising campaign from their own merch store, smashing the target thanks to their loyal fans.


The Art Of Disconnect has been two years in the making and displays a varied soundscape: the pure rock energy blends with hints of pop sensibilities and grunge riffs, creating their fullest and most accessible record yet. The record was produced by George Donoghue at British Grove Studios, with industry heavyweight Chris Sheldon at the mixing desk (Foo Fighters, Biffy Clyro and Don Broco).

Since 2018’s critically acclaimed album “DeadHead” the band has toured extensively, accumulating miles of road experience and playing festivals such as Hard Rock Hell, Ramblin’ Man and Planet Rockstock. The band was due to hit the road again in support of “The Art Of Disconnect” in May 2020, with special guest Deever, however due to current COVID-19 pandemic, the tour has been postponed.


  1. The Art Of Disconnect
  2. Enthusiasm And Fumes
  3. It Comes At A Price
  4. The Grip
  5. The Clear Light Of Self Hatred
  6. Grin And Bare It
  7. Who I’ve Become
  8. Habit Machine
  9. Slow Motion Ruin
  10. Blueprint For A Breakdown
  11. If I Could Trade Me For A Day
  12. Straight Jacket
  13. Stubborn

The Art Of Disconnect is out today and available on CD, digital and a gorgeous bright pink vinyl. To purchase the record please head here – https://therocketdolls.bigcartel.com

The Rocket Dolls are: Nikki Smash (vocals, guitars), Joe Constable (bass, backing vocals), Benji Knopfler (drums).

Useful Links:
Website: http://therocketdolls.co.uk
Facebook: https://en-gb.facebook.com/therocketdolls
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/1BsEwEvGPRjWVFFHSj9NVT
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/TheRocketDolls

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Belfast’s Dom Martin announces new album “A Savage Life” and new single “12 Gauge”

Now and again, you stumble across a rare talent of such sheer genius that  you wonder whet…