Home Albums EP Review : Sven Gali – 3

EP Review : Sven Gali – 3

5 min read
Comments Off on EP Review : Sven Gali – 3

Formed in 1987, Sven Gali built up a name for themselves with their live shows, before releasing their self-titled album in 1992. Further touring followed, supporting Foreigner, Meatloaf, Pearl Jam and Def Leppard before the release of their second album ‘Inwire’ in 1995.

However the album was a departure from the sound of the first album and was not well received by some fans and after touring the album the group disbanded in 1996.

Guitarist Dee Cernile passed away from lung cancer in 2012, before the three remaining original members reformed the band and added Sean Williamson on guitar and Dan File on drums to bring us ‘3’.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMXhF_Km8cg&w=560&h=315]

We’re straight out of the blocks with ‘Kill The Lies’, the reunion single from 2018, with Dan Fila carrying the beat through the intro as Dave Wanless gets his pipes warmed up, before the boys let loose and give us some serious head banging rock. Great opener and this really sets the tone for the EP.

Next up is 2019’s ‘You Won’t Break Me’ which continues much in the same vein with a thumping beat all the way through and a really nice searing guitar solo. There are elements of grunge, death metal and classic rock in there and the band pull it together to really make it work.

‘Now’ is a brand new track which rises up and dives down throughout, via some funky bass work and nice riffs before reaching a belting crescendo where Wanless let’s rip and roars his vocal.

To be honest I’m probably not the first and won’t be the last to mention that ‘Hurt’ has more than a whiff of Metallica’s, ‘Enter Sandman’ about it, but I still can’t help loving it. The big riffs, the gruff vocals, that downright dirty grind that carrys the track along – it all just makes me want to turn it up loud and educate the neighbours! What’s more it’s a cracking way to finish the EP.


These guys haven’t made enough music over the past 33 years and this EP is proof that when they want to, they can seriously can rock it. It’s great to have them back and let’s hope that this time they might stick around for a while.

Track Listing:
Kill The Lies
You Won’t Break Me

Sven Gali Line-up:
Vocals: Dave Wanless
Guitars: Andy Frank
Bass: Shawn Minden
Guitars Sean Williamson
Drums Dan Fila

3 is released on June 12th 2020

Connect with Sven Gali:

Website:           www.svengali.ca

Facebook:         www.facebook.com/svengalicanada/

You Tube:         www.youtube.com/svengali

Reviewed by : Howard Whitelaw (for MPM)

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Album Review : The Commoners : Restless

Previously unknown to me, The Commoners could be described as a 'Southern Blues Rock' band…