Home News Motörhead’s ‘Ace of Spades’ album gets deluxe 40th anniversary reissue

Motörhead’s ‘Ace of Spades’ album gets deluxe 40th anniversary reissue

6 min read
Comments Off on Motörhead’s ‘Ace of Spades’ album gets deluxe 40th anniversary reissue

Motörhead’s 1980 masterpiece ‘Ace of Spades’ is getting a deluxe reissue to celebrate its 40th anniversary this autumn.

On the back of the ‘Overkill’ and ‘Bomber’ reissues last year, the various deluxe collector’s box set and special anniversary editions of Motörhead’s ‘Ace of Spades’ will be unleashed to the world on Friday 30th October 2020.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWB5JZRGl0U&w=560&h=315]

The two CD and triple LP formats come as hardback books, featuring a previously unheard concert from the ‘Ace Up Your Sleeve’ tour, the story of the album and a series of previously unseen photos.

Costing £250, keen Motörhead aficionados (with deeper pockets) will be keen to buy the super deluxe box set featuring 42 unreleased tracks and a veritable smorgasbord of Motörhead treasures. There’s also a deluxe box set that retails at £150.

Motörhead 'Ace of Spades' Super Deluxe Box SetMotörhead ‘Ace of Spades’

Motörhead ‘Ace of Spades’ Super Deluxe Box Set

The Ace Of Spades Super Deluxe box set contains the following:

– The Ace Of Spades album, half-speed mastered and created from the original master tapes.

– Two double-live albums of previously unheard concerts from the Ace Up Your Sleeve tour.

– A Fistful Of Instrumentals : A 10” EP of previously unreleased, instrumental tracks from 1980.

– The Good, The Broke & The Ugly. A double album of B-sides, outtakes and rare tracks.

– Ace On Your Screens: A DVD compilation of rare TV appearances from 1980-81, a live concert from 1981 and a 5.1 audio mix of the original album.

– The Ace Of Spades story. A 40 page book telling the story of Ace Of Spades through previously unpublished interviews with the people that were there. Includes never before seen photos and memorabilia.

– The Ace Up Your Sleeve tour programme

– The Motörhead Rock Commando comic.

– A set of 5 poker dice that can be played on the game board inside the box set lid.

– A deck of Motörhead playing cards

– A bespoke Texas Hold Em poker mat

– A set of Motörhead casino chips

– Two Motörhead shot glasses

– All encased in a bespoke wooden, Wild West dynamite box.

– A limited edition 7″ reproduction of the Dutch ‘Ace Of Spades’ single, with a previously unreleased instrumental version on Side B (please note, this is only a gift with purchase, and is only available while stocks of this item last)

The ‘Ace of Spades’ 40th anniversary reissue is available to pre-order from Motörhead’s official website now. There are also a variety of merchandise bundles, including an ‘Ace of Spades’ face mask.

Containing the timeless title track, ‘Ace of Spades’ was originally released in November 1980 and thanks to blistering tracks like ‘The Chase Is Better Than the Catch’, ‘(We Are) The Road Crew’ and ‘Love Me Like a Reptile’, the album is rightfully heralded as a highly influential hard rock classic.

This landmark album saw the three amigos of Lemmy, Fast Eddie Clarke and Philthy Animal Taylor join forces with esteemed producer Vic “Chairman” Maile (Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, The Who) to create audio dynamite.

The ‘Ace of Spades’ box set track-listing is as follows:


Side One

Ace Of Spades
Love Me Like A Reptile
Shoot You In The Back
Live To Win
Fast And Loose
(We Are) The Road Crew
Side Two
Fire Fire
Bite The Bullet
The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
The Hammer.

Follow Motörhead: Facebook: https://motorhead.lnk.to/followFI Twitter: https://motorhead.lnk.to/followTI Instagram: https://motorhead.lnk.to/followII Website: https://motorhead.lnk.to/followWI Spotify: https://motorhead.lnk.to/followSI YouTube: https://motorhead.lnk.to/subscribeYD

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Norwegian Grammy Award-Winning Metal Band THE KOVENANT Returns From Hiatus

THE KOVENANT are preparing to return to the live stage. The Norwegian Grammy award-winning…