Home Albums Album Review : INGLORIOUS – ‘WE WILL RIDE’ (Frontiers)

Album Review : INGLORIOUS – ‘WE WILL RIDE’ (Frontiers)

6 min read
Comments Off on Album Review : INGLORIOUS – ‘WE WILL RIDE’ (Frontiers)

Inglorious haven’t been idle during the 2020 lockdowns, managing to write and record `We Will Ride’, the fourth album from the UK based Rockers.

It will be the first studio release to feature new members guitarists Danny Dela Cruz and Dan Stevens and bassist Vinnie Colla, who join original members vocalist Nathan James and drummer Phil Beaver.

The first track, and first single to be released, `She Won’t Let You Go’ pulls no punches with an “in your face” pounding rock riff, tasty hook lies and the forceful, but melodic powerhouse vocal delivery from James. `Messiah’ maintains the pace with James intense lyrical delivery and a heavier guitar presence here which when unleashed ahead of the chorus is pure class.

Medusa’ takes on a deep south vibe with slide guitar style blending with lush choruses and a tight rock beat. Meaty wah fuelled phrases break up this superb track.

This is Whitesnake brought up to date and given balls! The mood changes once more with the gentle start to `Eye Of The Storm’. James voice remains powerful but when reigned in his tone is something to behold. The track ebbs and flows between soft passages and all-out classic rock.

A mellow acoustic guitar part lulls the listener into a false sense of security before all controls are set to eleven for `Cruel Intentions’. Here the band straddle the line between the chug of heavy rock and the harmonies and melodies of AOR greatness.

The epic `My Misery’ has keyboards, massive lead riffs and more emotional, passionate vocal tones than you can shake a stick at. The guitars are a wall of forceful pleasure here.

`Do You Like It’ is another rock monster that drips with licks and riffs from every orifice whilst `He Will Provide’ takes things up another notch with an earworm of a riff and a dark vocal that Ozzy would be proud of!

A mixture of massive riffs, immense fretboard melodies and sweet guitar solos pepper `We Will Meet Again’ as James weaves a warm but strong vocal throughout.

More riffery kicks `God Of War’ straight into the frontline. A melodic vocal powers the track along as the twin guitars of Dela Cruz and Stevens switch from sweet clean phrases to singing lead breaks.

The last song, which is also the title track `We Will Ride’ is a menacing piece that paints pictures of days yore horses, devils, knights, damsels in distress all feature here. Musically brilliant and lyrically sublime!

Since the band started in 2014, they have continued to grow with the powerhouse vocals of Nathan James at the helm, they have firmly established themselves as masters of true British hard rock.

This release, partly driven no doubt by the unusual circumstances in which it was written, has brought out a darker, more sinister flavour to the lyrics and has seen the bands sound grow as a result.


  1. She Won’t Let You Go
  2. Messiah
  3. Medusa
  4. Eye Of The Storm
  5. Cruel Intentions
  6. My Misery
  7. Do You Like It
  8. He Will Provide
  9. We Will Meet Again
  10. God Of War
  11. We Will Ride

Nathan James – Lead Vocals
Danny De La Cruz – Guitar
Dan Stevens – Guitar
Vinnie Colla – Bass Guitar
Phil Beaver – Drums/Percussion

Keys/Piano – Rob Lindop

This is gloriously Inglorious perfection!


Review by Paul Sabin for MPM

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

NONPOINT Release New Single “Underdog” + Music Video; Announce Tour with Black Stone Cherry this Summer! 

Continuing with the success of their new independent label, 361 Degrees Records, Nonpoint …