Home Albums EP Review : Primal Fear – ‘I Will Be Gone

EP Review : Primal Fear – ‘I Will Be Gone

5 min read
Comments Off on EP Review : Primal Fear – ‘I Will Be Gone

Review by Fiona Duignan for MPM

If you want to be reminded of what the best original sound of metal is, then look no further than Primal Fear because they have released their new 5-track EP ‘I Will Be Gone’, to treat our ears. The hooks will do exactly what they are supposed to do – hook you right in and I guarantee you will be happy you listened to rock legends Primal Fear giving us the unforgettable metal we know and love.

The single and title track, ‘I Will Be Gone’ released in April, was re-recorded from it’s original appearance on ‘Metal Commando’. A soft acoustic introduction lures you into a conversation between lovers, perhaps at a crossroads, asking one last question. With sublime harmonies, it’s beauty is in the simplicity, focusing entirely on strings, and vocals from Ralf and Finnish metal soprano, Tarja Turunen.

This track has put Primal Fear into the official German singles charts for the first time – congratulations!

Introduced by an animalistic scream Vote of No Confidence, is all about the drums right from the start, confirming why Michael Ehré got the job. The words ‘Vote of No Confidence’ are not the easiest words to put into song, so that is admirable in itself and makes sure you know about corruption, hence it’s six minutes long because there are plenty of shady dealings going on in the world! It feels like the chorus was written for the crowd to sing it loud at a packed arena, fists in the air, sticking it to the establishment.

Following an instrumental interlude with Rising Fear, Leave Me Alone is accompanied by a really cool riff where Ralf tells us to bugger off! And you know what, he’s right. If someone brings you down, get rid!

Second to None completes the EP. This low, dirty riff reminds me why I fell in love metal back in the 80’s (I’m showing my age here). Ralf instructs us to be wild and stay young and who are we to question him? A deadly ass guitar solo drives the message home. Brilliant!

Ralf Scheepers | vocals
Mat Sinner | bass, vocals
Alex Beyrodt | guitars
Tom Naumann | guitars
Magnus Karlsson | guitars
Michael Ehré | drums

Special single version of ‘I WILL BE GONE’ featuring Tarja Turunen! Order ‘I Will Be Gone’ here in the format of your choice: http://nblast.de/PF-IWillBeGone

The new album ‘Metal Commando’ is out now: http://nblast.de/PF-MetalCommando

SUBSCRIBE to NUCLEAR BLAST YouTube: http://nblast.de/NBytb

ORDER ‘METAL COMMANDO’: http://nblast.de/PF-MetalCommando

STREAM/DOWNLOAD: http://nblast.de/PF-MetalCommandoDigi

Check out the complete Primal Fear discography on Spotify: http://nblast.de/PrimalFSpotifyComplete

FOLLOW THE BAND: https://www.primalfear.de




Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Gig Review : Nick Mason’s Saucerful of Secrets Set the Controls Tour 2024The Royal Concert Hall Nottingham

Pink Floyds human metronome, Nick Mason brings his Saucerful of Secrets to Nottingham for …