Home News BOKASSA announce ‘Molotov Rocktail’ with new single & video for Careless (In The Age Of Altruism

BOKASSA announce ‘Molotov Rocktail’ with new single & video for Careless (In The Age Of Altruism

8 min read
Comments Off on BOKASSA announce ‘Molotov Rocktail’ with new single & video for Careless (In The Age Of Altruism

Norwegian power trio BOKASSA are fully charged and ready to set everything ablaze on their upcoming album, Molotov Rocktail, out September 3rd, 2021 via Napalm Records. 

The follow up to Crimson Riders (2019), released during their tour with METALLICA, displays their trademarked brand of stoner punk at its best throughout all 11 tracks.

Today, the band kicks things off with their raucous first single “Careless (In The Age Of Altruism)”, during which the three-piece unites heavy stoner rock riffs with a melodic singalong chorus, alongside an energetic video! Norway’s most exciting export and Lars Ulrich’s “new favourite band” brings the noise and delivers energy like THE BRONX, RED FANG, BILLY TALENT and QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE.

Hundreds of thousands of streams and fans across the world can attest: BOKASSA are on their way to becoming the elite of stoner punk!   BOKASSA adds, “‘Careless (In The Age Of Altruism)’ was one of the first tracks written for Molotov Rocktail and a single candidate from the get go because of its crunchy riffage and affective hook.

As with ‘So Long, Idiots!’ our protagonist has become more and more disillusioned with the world, and tries his best to avoid it, while existing comfortably in his own bubble. We also think it may be the only song that includes the word ‘Didjeridon’t’?”   Watch the music video for “Careless (In The Age Of Altruism)” HERE: BOKASSA have made a name for themselves with their brand of hard-hitting, melodic, catchy punk and stoner rock, right from the first full length, Divide & Conquer (2017).

During the Worldwired tour with METALLICA, the band released the critically acclaimed Crimson Riders (2019). Following that, the group were nominated for the prestigious Spellemann-Award as Breakthrough of the Year in 2020.

Now, BOKASSA are ready to enter the next explosive chapter with Molotov Rocktail!   

Vocalist/guitarist Jørn Kaarstad’s unmistakably raspy voice and crushing guitar riffs hit satisfyingly hard with the snappy drumming and fat bass tone of drummer Olav Dowkes and bassist Bård Linga. Songs like “Hereticules” effortlessly pull off the transition between melodic choruses and punishing breakdowns, while the title track “Molotov Rocktail” is two minutes of pure stoner punk paradise with dense songwriting and dynamic production.

The album closer’s intro riff (“Immortal Space Pirate 3 Too Old For This Sith”), meanwhile, could be lifted straight off a BEHEMOTH album.

On Molotov Rocktail, BOKASSA’s daring but cohesive tightrope act of singalongs and neck breaking grooves is highly contagious – mixed and mastered by Machine (CLUTCH, THE BRONX, EVERY TIME I DIE), the powerhouse from Trondheim misses no chance to entrance the listener with every second! 


  1. Freelude
  2. So Long Idiots!
  3. Pitchforks R Us
  4. Hereticules
  5. Low (And Behold)
  6. Godless
  7. Molotov Rocktail
  8. Burn It All (P.T.S.D.E.A.D)
  9. Careless (In The Age Of Altruism)
  10. Code Red
  11. Immortal Space Pirate 3 Too Old For This Sith 

Molotov Rocktail» will be available in the following formats:
1 CD Digipak + Shirt
1 LP Gatefold Pink – limited to 300 copies worldwide
1 LP Gatefold Yellow – limited to 200 copies worldwide
1 LP Gatefold Violet Transparent
1 LP Gatefold Black
Digital Album

Don’t miss the rambunctious Norwegians when they take the party back on the road, bringing along special guests, hotly-tipped Welsh rockers FLORENCE BLACK.

Jørn Kaarstad – Lead Vocals,Guitar
Bård Linga – Bass, Vocals
Olav Dowkes – Drums, Vocals

PRESS PRAISE FOR PREVIOUS RECORD ‘CRIMSON RIDERS’ Kerrang!, 4K “Their groovy stoner-punk is perfectly pitched to get this party started.” “A staggering exploration of just how many ways there are to make a sonic attack without sacrificing an ounce of momentum.”

Metal Hammer, 8/10 “The riffs are huge, the energy is infectious, and Jørn Kaarstad does a much more convincing cockney accent than Dick Van Dyke.” “A cross-genre, hook-laden, charismatic statement made for your attention.

Rock Sound “Crushing together the carefree mayhem of punk and the weight of hardcore while throwing in a hell of a lot of personality for good measure, the Norwegian trio are making friends and inciting pits everywhere they shred.

Distorted Sound, 10/10 “A sonic equivalent of downing an entire crate of beer, crushing the cans on your forehead and jumping straight into a mosh pit.

Total Guitar “Bokassa’s bulldozer rock recalls the kind of punk-metal bounce that you get with Cancer Bats, albeit loosened with a little stoner slack!”

Powerplay, 8/10 “A shit load of riffs and hooks.

Listen and pre-order the album here:https://smarturl.it/MolotovRocktail

Follow the band here: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BokassaBand

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bokassaband/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/bokassaband

YouTube: @Bokassa

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Orange Amplification Launch New Improved O Bass

Orange Amplification launch the new, updated O Bass, retaining all the best features from …