Home Singles Single Review : The Five Hundred – Our Demise

Single Review : The Five Hundred – Our Demise

5 min read
Comments Off on Single Review : The Five Hundred – Our Demise

Review by Tammy Lomax for MPM

The Five Hundred are one of my favourite metalcore bands and are, without question, slaughtering. Nottingham based since 2014, their energy and movement within the scene is solidly stamped, their sound is huge and all with a massive flawless production behind everything they do.

Tourettes, OCD, gambling and drug addiction are some of the struggles the band have faced, however they collect all their personal struggles and traumas together in a big ball of emotions and create some beatific, passionate incredible music.

New single, ‘Our Demise’, is the third track from the upcoming album ‘A World On Fire’ due for release 30/07/2021 and ‘Our Demise’, ‘Black Dogs’ and ‘The Rising Tide’ have already gained over 500,000 streams.

Never afraid to tackle difficult subjects, ‘Black Dogs’ is a song about isolation and the curse of negative mental health causing anxieties, paranoia and suicidal thoughts whilst ‘The Rising Tide’ is a song about climate destruction and environmental devastation which have such a detrimental effect on ecosystems, cities and millions of human lives.

‘Our Demise’ is where it is at for me though, I am buried so deep inside this track and I have had it on repeat for an hour. I can really dissect it and I believe it’s the best single from the album thus far.

The band haven’t stated if this song is about fighting or giving up, it’s basically down to the listener, leaving us to decide. The track slowly builds you into a decent pace after some melodic harmonies and my oh my that pace brings all the bounce, it’s bloody wonderful.

These guys are heroes when it comes to technicalities and layering, every single instrument comes through crystal clear. The double bass drums are directly aligned with the eight string guitars which absolutely shred, throw in some demonic vocals and a mighty chorus with some clean singing, a hint of melodic samples and boom! What a respectable slab of metalcore!

Slightly over half-way and the breakdown drops, mate I totally love it. They ease you out of the track with so much emotion, screeching stretched vocals with some light guitar solos and it all fades out, brilliant work guys.

The album apparently weaves through different aspects of a generation-defining crisis, from global disaster to mental health. The Five Hundred are fighters, fact.

They are accepting and overcoming their personal struggles, piece by piece slowly putting the puzzles together. They will keep rising, accomplishing the most prodigious music, effectively and inspiring. No-one may be perfect, but this metalcore is.

Pre-order A World On Fire and stream ‘Our Demise’ here: https://smarturl.it/aworldonfire

A World On Fire tracklisting:

  1. Black Dogs
  2. The Rising Tide
  3. Our Demise
  4. The Warmth
  5. Walls Of Jericho feat. Andreas Bjulver
  6. Your Apocalypse feat. Jeremy Gomez
  7. With Scars
  8. Our Curse
  9. Agony
  10. A World On Fire

More info:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In Singles
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Legendary UK metal giants Orange Goblin announce new album ‘Science, Not Fiction’ 

Legendary UK metal giants Orange Goblin are back with details of their long awaited new st…