Home News The Five Hundred announce new album and release video for ‘Our Demise

The Five Hundred announce new album and release video for ‘Our Demise

7 min read
Comments Off on The Five Hundred announce new album and release video for ‘Our Demise

UK metalcore quintet The Five Hundred have announced their sophomore album A World On Fire, due for release on 30th July 2021 via Long Branch Records.

The band have also released a video for their brand new single ‘Our Demise’. The third single from the album, ‘Our Demise’ follows ‘Black Dogs’ and ‘The Rising Tide’, which have collectively garnered over 500,000 streams.

Pre-order A World On Fire and stream ‘Our Demise’ here: https://smarturl.it/aworldonfire

The Five Hundred comment on the new single: 

“I remember reading a paper about how people can pass away simply because they’ve given up. Life has beaten them and they feel defeat is inescapable. It was a study by researchers about the ‘clinical markers’ for ‘give-up-itis’, a crude term used to describe what is known medically as psychogenic death.

It usually follows a trauma from which a person thinks there is no escape, making death seem like the only rational outcome. If not arrested, death usually occurs three weeks after the first stage of withdrawal. The researcher quoted: Psychogenic death is real. It isn’t suicide, it isn’t linked to depression, but the act of giving up on life and dying usually within days, is a very real condition often linked to severe trauma.

“It’s a subject matter that triggers thoughts, perhaps analogously, that we are experiencing a societal or ecological version of this. We have given up on ourselves, and we have just accepted that this is the only, inevitable conclusion, to fade away, wide-eyed and hopeless.

“As a society we swing from the opposite ends of the pendulum, of environmental activism, which society bizarrely labels as ‘extremism’ to the flaccid apathy of ‘middle-of-the-road Joe Public’, who questions whether any of this is even real.

We don’t need two polar opposites to war with each other, we need the middle ground to get the f**k in the water and learn to swim. We haven’t decided if this song is about fighting on or giving up… I guess we’ll let the listener decide.

Aggressive yet euphoric, empowering yet simultaneously enslaving, The Five Hundred are renowned for overcoming adversities and laying siege to every stage they play.

Their critically acclaimed debut album, Bleed Red, told the story of a band struggling with Tourette’s, OCD, and drug addiction. It’s nowtime to share with the world how they’ve battled through their vices and come out on top.

After successful tours up and down the UK, Eastern Europe / Russia and an appearance at the iconic Download Festival in 2019, the quintet are back and angrier than ever with their follow-up album.

As the world closed its frontiers, boarded up their cities, and locked themselves inside, The Five Hundred closed themselves off from the rest of society for six months to write their fitting sophomore album, A World On Fire.

In May 2020, only a few months into the COVID-19 pandemic, The Five Hundred released the album’s first single, ‘Black Dogs’, a song about isolation and the plague of mental health, which spreads through society like a contagion of anxiety, paranoia and suicidal ideations.

Follow-up single ‘The Rising Tide’ offered a glimpse into what has become a central theme to the band and their music in this coming cycle: environmental devastation, rising sea levels, climate disaster, and the ensuing loss of entire ecosystems, cities and millions of human lives. The album concept weaves through various aspects of a generation-defining crisis, from flood to furnace… a fitting soundtrack for the coming apocalypse.

A World On Fire tracklisting:

  1. Black Dogs
  2. The Rising Tide
  3. Our Demise
  4. The Warmth
  5. Walls Of Jericho feat. Andreas Bjulver
  6. Your Apocalypse feat. Jeremy Gomez
  7. With Scars
  8. Our Curse
  9. Agony
  10. A World On Fire

More info:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

NEW YEARS DAY drop title track from their forthcoming ‘Half Black Heart’ album

NEW YEARS DAY have shared the title track from their upcoming studio album, Half Black Hea…