Home Albums Album Review : Tedeschi Trucks Band – ‘Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’)

Album Review : Tedeschi Trucks Band – ‘Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’)

5 min read
Comments Off on Album Review : Tedeschi Trucks Band – ‘Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’)

Review by Andy Houghton for MPM 

On 9th November 1970, Eric Clapton and his blues rock band Derek and the Dominos released their one and only studio album, ‘Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs’.

Despite critical acclaim, the album met with sluggish sales. Indeed, the now-iconic track ‘Layla’ didn’t find its way into the top ten singles chart until March 1972. 

The Tedeschi Trucks Band is a partnership between guitarist/vocalist Susan Tedeschi (whose birthdate coincidentally happens to be 9th November 1970) and guitarist Derek Trucks (whose parents used to play Clapton’s album to him as bedtime music).

Cosmic connections being what they are, Susan and Derek have now released their homage to the original album with ‘Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’)’, a complete live performance of Clapton’s masterwork. 

Recorded at the LOCKN’ Music Festival in Arrington, VA, in August 2019, the album also features Trey Anastasio, lead vocalist/guitarist from Phish, and former Eric Clapton guitarist Doyle Bramhall II. Thirteen of the tracks were recorded live, with the closing track ‘Thorn Tree In The Garden’ recorded in the studio. 

Simply billed as ‘Tedeschi Trucks Band featuring Trey Anastasio’, fans at the concert were kept in the dark about their plans to perform the Layla album in its entirety until the moment the band took the stage. The excitement infusing such an event permeates the album, making for a live recording of the highest calibre. 

Susan Trucks’ husky vocals are the aural equivalent of a glass of Jack Daniels, and with the same ability to warm your soul, whilst the instrumentals are soothingly mellow. The band sound like they’re having the time of their lives, especially when they stretch a track like ‘Keep On Growing’ to give it a running time of twelve minutes, virtually double that of the original. 

The band also innovate, such as with album opener ‘I Looked Away’, where the inclusion of horns brings the track a new vitality. Meanwhile their rendition of ‘Layla’ captures all the energy and punch of the original. ‘Thorn Tree In The Garden’ – the album’s only studio track – brings the album to a close with subtlety and style. 

‘Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’)’ is a fitting tribute to the original, and showcases the Tedeschi Trucks Band at their best: a classic album, performed in an electrifying live setting, by musicians who are at the top of their game. 


  1. I Looked Away
  2. Bell Bottom Blues
  3. Keep On Growing
  4. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
  5. I Am Yours
  6. Anyday
  7. Key To The Highway
  8. Tell The Truth
  9. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?
  10. Have You Ever Loved A Woman?
  11. Little Wing
  12. It’s Too Late
  13. Layla
  14. Thorn Tree In The Garden (studio)

Tell The Truth” is from the album, Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’), listen/order here: https://found.ee/TTBLaylaRevisited

Website: https://www.tedeschitrucksband.com/ 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DerekAndSusan/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DerekAndSusan  

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/derekandsusan/ 

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

SONATA ARCTICA – launch lyric video for first single, ‘I Have A Right’; »Acoustic Adventures – Volume Two« now available for pre-order

Finnish power/melodic metal icons SONATA ARCTICA recently announced the release of the sec…