Home News German metalcore quartet Defocus release debut album and new single ‘In Our Heads

German metalcore quartet Defocus release debut album and new single ‘In Our Heads

4 min read

German metalcore quartet Defocus have released their debut album In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same via Arising Empire. To celebrate, the band have also shared their new single ‘In Our Heads’.

Stream/purchase In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same here: https://defocus.lnk.to/intheeyeofdeath

Founded by Simon Müller, Jeffrey UhlmannJonas Mahler and Marcel “Bambam” HeberlingDefocus spent time making music together before coming to light in early 2019, instantly proving their worth in the scene with their energetic live shows. 

In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same tracklisting:

  1. Thought of a Vision
  2. In Our Heads
  3. Immerse Me
  4. Common Grave
  5. Tides (Interlude)
  6. Diverge (Feat. Tom Brümmer)
  7. Can You See Me?
  8. Disease
  9. Shelter

Faced with the global COVID-19 pandemic, Defocus got to work on their upcoming record through extensive late-night online sessions, allowing every member to contribute their individual ideas and emotions.

Guitarist Jeffrey Uhlmann comments: 

“I remember that when we started to write all this material, everyone was on the same page from the beginning and we knew exactly which direction we wanted to go, but at the same time everyone took inspiration from different sources.

Seeing all this material finally come together in the end makes me super happy, because the writing process and everything around it really defined who we are as a band and resulted in a pure milestone everyone in the band can 100% identify with.” 

The quartet recorded the tracks remotely from home, before they were mixed and mastered by Christoph Wieczorek (Annisokay) from Sawdust Recordings, who truly captured their crushing and impulsive take on modern metalcore. 

Now, Defocus enter the metal scene with a record full of heavy, low-tuned guitars and driving rhythms, paired with dark and ambient melodies, creating a melancholic atmosphere for their thrilling sound. A deep-dive into the world we are living in and how we are all affected by it, In The Eye Of Death We Are All The Same is a punishing album deserving of your attention. 

Defocus are:

Simon Müller | Vocals
Jeffrey Uhlmann | Guitar
Marcel “Bambam” Heberling | Bass
Jonas Mahler | Drums

For more information:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Album Review : The Stranglers – ‘Dark Matter’

A two fingered salute by the youth against the Establishment and a time of Progressive Roc…