Home News Finnish metalcore band Atlas release new single ‘VERI’

Finnish metalcore band Atlas release new single ‘VERI’

3 min read
Comments Off on Finnish metalcore band Atlas release new single ‘VERI’

Finnish metalcore quintet Atlas release new single ‘VERI’, from the upcoming album UKKO, due for release on 22nd October 2021 via Long Branch Records.

The heaviest music Atlas have ever written, ‘VERI’ is Finnish for ‘blood’, and documents the journey of healing and letting go.

Guitarist Tuomas Kurikka comments: 

“‘VERI’ is one of the most dynamic songs from the upcoming album with so many different genres and influences mixed together. A true sacrifice for the northern gods.”

Stream ‘VERI’ and pre-order the album here: https://smarturl.it/atlas_ukko

Atlas are a five-piece modern metalcore band from Tampere, Finland labelling themselves as ‘Northcore’. The quintet’s sound combines mammoth riffs and gloomy soundscapes, that draw inspiration from the cold of the North. Their releases include 2016 EP Northern Lights, 2018 standalone singles ‘Birthright’ and ‘The Catalyst’ and debut full-length Primitive, as well as their 2019 single trilogy.

The quintet explore a new sonic palette on their second album UKKO, drawing inspiration from Finnish folk music and poetry, combined with the dark soundscapes and dynamic songwriting the band have become known for. Lyrically and thematically, UKKO explores themes of death, healing, rebirth and faith, presented in a seamlessly blended mix of English and Finnish. UKKO was mixed and mastered by Buster Odeholm (VildhjartaOceano, Humanity’s Last BreathBorn of Osiris), who brought his unique approach and sound to the album.

Atlas have played throughout Europe with the likes of MonumentsMiss May IVOLAKadinjaAdeptEskimo CallboyOne Morning Left and We Butter The Bread With Butter. Their debut album Primitive climbed the Finnish album charts to number six and came to life on a European tour with Monuments, receiving praise from fans and critics alike.

UKKO tracklist:

  1. Talvi
  2. Synti
  3. Taivaanranta
  4. Susi
  5. Ukko
  6. Henki
  7. Lehto
  8. Veri
  9. Joki
  10. Uhri
  11. Pohjannaula

Atlas are: 

Patrik Nuorteva – Vocals
Leevi Luoto – Guitar & Vocals
Kevin Apostol – Bass
Tuomas Kurikka – Guitar & Vocals
Aku Karjalainen – Drums

For more information: 

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Legendary UK metal giants Orange Goblin announce new album ‘Science, Not Fiction’ 

Legendary UK metal giants Orange Goblin are back with details of their long awaited new st…