Home Albums Album Review : Inglorious ‘Heroine’

Album Review : Inglorious ‘Heroine’

13 min read
Comments Off on Album Review : Inglorious ‘Heroine’

Review By Fiona Duignan for MPM

Releasing a cover of a global hit is brave. For these five guys however, bravery is off the charts because this whole album is a tribute to international female artists that have influenced them in some way, which is extra cool considering none of the guys were born when some of these songs were released!

Now that takes balls because these songs are off the charts iconic, as are the artists. Just look at the track listing – Joan Jett, Heart, Evanescence to Whitney Houston and Christina Aguilera. But Inglorious know what they are doing and are not afraid to do it, hence we have this new album ‘Heroine’, due for release on 10th September.

I’m trying to imagine the discussions the guys had, heated or otherwise, to agree what songs they would cover and how to put their own stamp on it without taking from the reason the songs became global sensations in the first place.

How in the hell did they agree on just 11 songs? When I saw the track listing, I admit I was a bit sceptical at first because in addition to some of my favourite songs there are a few curve-balls that made my eyebrows shoot off the top of my head.

I need not have worried, because I know how talented the guys are and they are perfectionists after all and there isn’t a hope in hell they would release anything unless it was rocked-up perfect, so my eyebrows are back where they belong.

Believe me, there is nothing wimpy on this album and you will not forget that Inglorious are one helluva a rock band, destined for international stardom, just like these iconic ladies they are paying homage to.

I don’t need to tell you about the songs themselves, you already know them. What you may not know yet if you haven’t heard these Inglorious covers, is that they are bloody fantastic. The songs are not changed so much that you haven’t a clue who sang them originally, but the Nathan stamp is all over them because of his vocal range and every one of them is very much worth listening to, several times in fact.

The opening track is Queen of The Night from the late Whitney Houston. This was a surprise one for me because I don’t associate Whitney with rock, so what could Inglorious do here? Enter Danny De La Cruz and Dan Stevens, that’s what, and yes, it really does rock things up! Anyone who has seen Inglorious live can imagine how this would be delivered on stage.

We all know that amazing riff that in Barracuda (Heart). There is not a lot of leeway to rearrange anything, it’s so iconic and Danny and Dan don’t disappoint. Nathan’s vocals are off the charts here and you will hear the pure joy in every note. Check out the video (and Dan’s guitar!)

If Miley can cover Metallica, then Inglorious can cover ‘Midnight Sky’! Enter a nice dirty riff, heavy bass and this really does rock things up a few notches. I don’t know how he did it, but Nathan has made this song a bit darker – check out the video and see for yourself.

‘Nutbush City Limits’ was the first song Tina Turner wrote and recorded, about her hometown in Tennessee. Danny stands out on this one for me however I do wonder how the guys decided on this particular song of Tina’s. I would like to hear the story behind that.

The epic ‘Bring Me To Life’ from Evanescence is next up and oh wow. This is my favourite on the album. We all know that piano intro and the beautiful vocals of Amy Lee so I was a bit apprehensive. But bloody hell, my ears were so happy and I’m sure Evanescence fans will be too. Vinnie is throwing everything into the bass and I swear the really dark backing vocals made my hair stand on end. Absolute magic.

Lighter covers follow the heavy Evanescence, with Christina Aguilera’s ‘Fighter’, filled with Nathan’s swagger that we know and love -a perfect song for haters! Those who know, will know. Avril Lavigne’s ‘I’m With You’ follows. It’s really sweet and Nathan’s love of ballads really enriches the song; a perfect addition to the album.

Leather, a juke box in a smoky bar and Joan Jett saunters her way onto the album. I don’t know why, but I am imagining Phil grinning like an idiot here! It’s such a fun song, full of attitude and it belongs to him. A remake of the video would be cool I think!

‘I Am The Fire’ from Halestorm is next up and this is the one I can imagine Nathan and Lzzy Hale on stage because Nathan’s vocals are definitely on fire, filled with attitude, and almost a murderous rage. I’m not saying any more but someone please make this happen!

How many of us cried our eyes out listening to Cindy Lauper’s ‘Time After Time’ after a broken heart because your summer romance was over? You are going to do it again because Nathan really brings so much emotion into the song, from start to finish and I got a bit emotional to be honest. We all know Nathan knows how to produce sublime ballads this arrangement is quite beautiful. What a fabulous addition to the album.

Alanis Morissette’s ‘Uninvited’ can only be full attitude and darkness, perfect for a teenage angst driven horror movie. Nathan brings the drama to a whole new level and when that glorious heavy breakdown majestically appears, it’s quite powerful.

I’ve mentioned Nathan’s vocals a few times here, but make no mistake about it, the combined talents of Phil, Vinnie, Danny and Dan make this album a must to have in your collection. This line-up is still pretty fresh even though they have a chart-topping album under their belt with ‘We Will Ride’. Giving themselves the opportunity to pay homage to amazing female artists, shows the depth of their talent and their fearless approach to doing what they do best and they clearly love every minute of it. Every one of these ladies will be grinning from ear to ear and well impressed, as will their fans.

‘Heroine’ is indeed a worthy tribute.

1.  Queen Of The Night (Whitney Houston cover)
2.  Barracuda (Heart cover)
3.  Midnight Sky (Miley Cyrus cover)
4.  Nutbush City Limits (Tina Turner cover)
5.  Bring Me To Life (Evanescence cover)
6.  Fighter (Christina Aguilera cover)
7.  I’m With You (Avril Lavigne cover)
8.  I Hate Myself For Loving You (Joan Jett cover)
9.  I Am The Fire (Halestorm cover)
10. Time After Time (Cyndi Lauper cover)
11. Uninvited (Alanis Morissette cover)

Heroine” is out the same day we start our UK tour.Grab your tickets now.https://linktr.ee/Weareinglorious

The gold and red vinyls on our webstore have nearly sold out. Grab one today before it’s too late!

All links to buy https://orcd.co/ingloriousheroine

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

HammerFall share new single ‘The End Justifies’ 

Heavy metal titans HammerFall are thrilled to announce the release of their electrifying n…