Home News Black Coast reveal alien autopsy like video for ‘Mental’ 🏴👽

Black Coast reveal alien autopsy like video for ‘Mental’ 🏴👽

5 min read
Comments Off on Black Coast reveal alien autopsy like video for ‘Mental’ 🏴👽

Stoke-On-Trent’s nu-metal bright lights Black Coast have revealed the video for new single ‘Mental’, the fifth track to be released ahead of their hotly anticipated debut album Outworld, set for release 19 November via Blood Blast Distribution.

Watch the video for Mental below.

Mental  continues the band’s trend of effortlessly twisting familiar components of grunge-tinged nu-metal into new shapes with the modern metallic hardcore sound that they are lauded for. The alien autopsy-esque video, sees vocalist Charlie Hewitt being pulled, prodded and experimented on mysterious outside forces, before rising up and taking revenge horror slasher style.

Lyrically Charlie muses on the self-indulgence that can be found in self destruction and the need to taking back control. A theme that cathartically runs throughout a record largely about his recovery.

Charlie Hewitt explains: ‘Mental’ is about questioning myself, why did l think being a certain way, a way that destroyed myself should be celebrated? Everyone goes through situations like this at some point and how other people deal with them determines how they move forwards.

l revelled in this state for so long, thinking the way that l was being was okay, when I was losing everything slowly but surely. This song is both a question and reflection on trying to break out of that mindset and realising what you actually have got in front of you.

You are a human, you are real, you’re not the only one like this and you can change the parts that want to break you if you choose to.

With their last tour shelved mid-way due to covid and staring into a void of uncertainty, Black Coast entered the studio. New music gave means for reflection and writing their debut album Outworld proved to be a healing process. Outworld unifies the multiple facets Black coast have touched on across singles ‘Ache’, ‘Paradise’, ‘Vodka Smile’, ‘Stranger’s Skin’ with genuine off the wall surprises along the way. Thematically it’s a candid exploration of vocalist Charlie Hewitt’s struggles which ultimately led him to a path of sobriety.

Things have gone from strength to strength with the band breaking on UK music television with Kerrang! TV rotation as well as garnering huge support at radio and press. With a new deal with Nuclear Blast’s Blood Blast Distribution, ‘Outworld’ is a record destined to take Black Coast to the next level. 

Black Coast will perform at a number of Festivals across 2021 and 2022 including; Your City Festival, Burn It Down Festival and Hammerfest. As well as album release shows at Stoke Underground Fri 19 Nov and London The Black Heart Tues 23 Nov.


Outworld – 19th November – Paradise Recordings via Blood Blast Distro track listing:
1. Ache
2. Paradise – Out Now
3. Addict 
4. Mental
5. Vodka Smile – Out Now
6. Void
7. Outworld
8. Twisted
9. Burn
10. Daydream
11. Domino Rose
12. Strangers Skin

Black Coast are: Charlie Hewitt – Vocals // Scott Pinnington – Guitar // Joe Mayer – Guitar // Jack Beardsall – Bass // Matthew Clarke – Drums.

Black Coast on the web
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website | Spotify  | YouTube

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Tech-Death Metal band GORY BLISTER drop new “Push Out the Venom” music video, 7th full-length album ‘Reborn from Hatred’ is out now!

Tech-Death Metal band GORY BLISTER drop new "Push Out the Venom" music video, 7th full-len…