Home Albums Album Review : Wax on Water, ‘The Drip

Album Review : Wax on Water, ‘The Drip

5 min read
Comments Off on Album Review : Wax on Water, ‘The Drip

Review by Maria Glover for MPM

Wax on Water is producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Maya Damaris, guitarist Steven Blessing and drummer Garren Orr.

‘The Drip’ is a collection of 16 songs that follows the release of the band’s 2018 debut album ‘Procession’. The songs were released as 2 EPs and then as a single 16-track album recently released through Howling Tempest Records.

As I play the album for the fourth time, I’m noting the influences I can hear; Bowie, Debbie Harry, Carly Simon, Shirley Manson and Courtney Love.

It’s an eclectic mix but what Wax on Water succeed in doing is to update some of the most influential sounds over the last few decades with an electro beat and grungy, gnarly edge giving it a whole new lease of life.

From punk-like vocals (‘Don’t Bore Us’) Damaris shifts between smooth and honied (‘All Over Me’) and more gritty (‘The Sting In The Raw’) all the while maintaining her strength and tone.

The album takes us on a deeply personal and reflective journey of songs largely written during the pandemic and focused on love, loss and that personal inner struggle so many can relate to.

It feels almost voyeuristic to follow as Damaris leads but it would be damn near impossible to resist.

‘Seventh Son’ has a 90s alt tock and grunge feel, which gets me right in the feels, a fuzzy synth that disorientates and the addictive chorus which pulls you back in.

A surprising cover of the O’Jays’ ‘For The Love of Money’ works really well with an updated sound, almost as if it was waiting for this moment, near unrecognisable except for the lyrics drawn out by an incredibly deep and soulful vocal.

Wax on Water do the unexpected well; the move from melancholy to uplifting in ‘Dumb Me’ and the subdued start (belied by a kicking drumbeat) with gentle vocal rising to a wild and boisterous chorus in ‘All Over Me’.

‘The Tree’ features a truly captivating vocal (best on the album in my opinion) over a grungy guitar backdrop, which just happens to be my favourite combination, in an intensely intimate song about the death of her father.

‘Predictable’ is exceptionally multi-faceted, layer upon layer creating a full, round-bottomed sound and silky smooth vocal that are a sheer delight.

‘In The Shadows’ is deliciously weird and scandalously addictive.

The lyrics are amazingly frank and honest throughout and perfectly matched with a range of instrumentals and effects which I cannot begin to count nor name.

It’s a unforeseen must-buy from me. Give it a listen – I guarantee it will surprise you and you wont be disappointed.


  1. Prologue
  2. Don’t Bore Us
  3. The Sting in the Raw
  4. Seventh Son
  5. For the Love of Money
  6. You Know When You Know
  7. The Wrong Way
  8. Dumb Me
  9. In The Shadows
  10. All Over Me
  11. Predictable
  12. Love Won’t Leave Her
  13. How Long?
  14. The Tree
  15. Grinding Skies
  16. The Drip







Find out more on their website https://waxonwater.com/


Track of the album: The Tree

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Album Review: Pearl Jam – Dark Matter

Where to begin? How about straight up facts, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees, over 85…