Home News SPIRITWORLD drop track/video for ‘U L C E R’; New Album DEATHWESTERN Out Now

SPIRITWORLD drop track/video for ‘U L C E R’; New Album DEATHWESTERN Out Now

9 min read
Comments Off on SPIRITWORLD drop track/video for ‘U L C E R’; New Album DEATHWESTERN Out Now

Las Vegas metallic riff-riders, SpiritWorld, have unleashed their long awaited 2nd studio album, DEATHWESTERN, via Century Media Records today. 

The band have also shared video for brand new track, U L C E R, their fourth single taken from the new collection.

Stu Folsom (mastermind of SpiritWorld) discusses the song and video as follows:

DEATHWESTERN is finally out!!!! I have never been prouder of anything. I know I sounded like a psycho when I started explaining this concept world, but having the DEATHWESTERN vinyl in my hands, validates a simple thing, I believe with all my heart.

We can be the bands we want to hear. We can write the books we want to read. This world gets more fucked up every day but art and especially the heavy music underground, have always been my escape.

To be able to contribute to the canon of bands that shaped and fortified my soul through every hard time in my life, through all the sorrow and brutal days of work, means more to me than anything.

I set out to make something that would hit like Slayer, Strife, Merauder, Bolt Thrower, Sepultura and Cro-Mags hit me when I was coming up.

I hope you blast it louder than fuck and you feel that junkyard groove as much as my squad. Love and respect to my bandmates and friends who poured themselves into this piece of art with me. This is one massive, crushing album, that took a year and a half of our lives to make.

U L C E R is my favorite song to play off the record. Every time we play it, I can see people’s jaws hit the floor.

Total riff daddy flexing! I threw some old school Swedish death metal and some New Orleans groove metal into the mix with some thrash and “Chaos A.D” worship and unsurprisingly, I think we cut a classic neck snapper!!!!”


01 – Mojave Bloodlust
03 – Relic of Damnation
04 – Purafied in Violence
05 – U L C E R
06 – Committee of Buzzards
07 – The Heretic Butcher
08 – Moonlit Torture & Genital Mutilation
09 – Crucified Heathen Scum
10 – Lujuria Satánica
11 – 1000 D E A T H S

DEATHWESTERN, the Las Vegas metallic hardcore band’s preposterously awesome new album, presents a fully formed aesthetic — a whole fleshed-out universe of pulpy sonic violence inspired by Westerns, horror, outlaw country, the occult, and the heavy metal classics of the late 20th century.” – Stereogum

DEATHWESTERN is an explosive collision of genres that keeps firing until each chamber is empty.” – Decibel 8/10

“If Pagan Rhythms felt like a shotgun blast introduction into Stu Folsom’s SPIRITWORLDDEATHWESTERN is the rare sequel, The Empire Strikes Back, that shines above what comes before” – Distorted Sound 10/10

“The perfect combination of old school thrash, groove, death metal and hardcore, DEATHWESTERN is easily the best soundtrack never written by Ennio Morricone to the best Satanic spaghetti western never directed by Sergio Leone.” – Ghostcult Magazine 9/10

DEATHWESTERN is available now HERE in the following formats:

  • Ltd. CD Edition
  • Black LP (w/ LP-Booklet & Poster). Available at all outlets
  • Red LP (w/ LP-Booklet & Poster) – 300 only. Available at Century Media EU Store
  • Yellow LP (w/ LP-Booklet & Poster) – 300 only. Available via SpiritWorld (band exclusive)
  • Transparent tan color LP (w/ LP-Booklet & Poster) – 500 only. Available at all outlets
  • Transparent orange crush LP (w/ LP-Booklet & Poster) – 300 only. Available at Century Media US Store 

The restless Stu Folsom (leader of SPIRITWORLD) is also pleased to announce the release of his book Godlessness, which will also be released on November 25th. 

The book is a collection of short stories, inspired in equal parts by the western pulp of Louis L’Amour, the novels of Cormac McCarthy, and the twisted horror of Clive Barker, Godlessness is the fictional companion piece of SPIRITWORLD’s debut Pagan Rhythms (2021) and upcoming follow up, DEATHWESTERN (2022).

Dedicated to the memory of, and edited in part by, Power Trip’s Riley Gale, who died unexpectedly in 2020, Godlessness was initially released as a limited-edition paperback.  The book will be available to pre-order through Rare Bird Lit, who also have the collectable formats below.

DEATHWESTERN Limited Edition Cassette: https://rarebirdlit.com/deathwestern-by-spiritworld-limited-edition-cassette

SPIRITWORLD emerged in 2017 as a musical outlet for Folsom’s love of punk, outlaw country and metal. SPIRITWORLD’s earliest efforts took a decidedly outlaw roots punk bent. 

Yet, it was with the full-metal direction taken on the initially self-released Pagan Rhythms, (re-released in 2021 through SPIRITWORLD’s new label home, Century Media) that won the band international acclaim.

Daniel P. Carter, BBC 1 DJ and curator of The Rock Show with Daniel P. Carter, as well as the likes of Exodus/Slayer guitarist Gary Holt and former Sepultura/current Soulfly leader Max Cavalera sang the album’s praises on their social media, discovering the band on word-of-mouth alone.

Find SPIRITWORLD online at


Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Album Review: Pearl Jam – Dark Matter

Where to begin? How about straight up facts, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees, over 85…