Home Albums Album Review: Stellar Circuits – Sight To Sound

Album Review: Stellar Circuits – Sight To Sound

4 min read
Comments Off on Album Review: Stellar Circuits – Sight To Sound

Review by Rick Eaglestone for MPM

North Carolina’s Stellar Circuits follow up their 2018 release under a new label, Germany’s Nuclear Blast and present their most ambitious release to date “Sight To Sound”

The albums opener ‘Catch Your Waves’ immediately has me invested as it is very reminiscent of A Perfect Circle but with a layer of intensity that is difficult to pull away from, this followed by prominent bass lines and a facer paced delivery ‘Witch House’ which was one of the bands early choices to receive a video release.

Speaking about the track, bassist Jesse Olsen describes the song as a blending of the “rhythmic foundation with a grittiness and rawness that’s always pulled me in, starting from the very beginning. It’s hypnotic and keeps you wanting more.”

The album then moves into the captivating ‘Pleasure Cruise’ which shows off the band’s musicianship and maturity, it’s easily one of the more complex tracks of the new album and one that I am drawn to time and time again.

Sweeping effortlessly into ‘Skull Beneath The Smile’ and title track ‘Sight To Sound’ is really where the album starts to form a dominating structure that I feel has slowly been growing and building through as the track have moved from one to another, the title track also has an emotionally rich middle section which will fan both old and new will enjoy.

Just past the halfway point sits ‘Truthseeker’ which a has a wonderful storytelling element, this is paired with ‘Alchemy’ and ‘Nightlife’ which again add more skilful elements from this foursome and is wonderful demonstration of each of the members strengths.

Easily the albums most mellow offering is the sublime ‘For The Birds’ which has a real emotional pull, and when ‘Learning To Sleep’ comes through the headphones I genuinely had goosebumps down my arms as it is such a well though through placing.

Finally, the album concludes with ‘Where Were You?’ which has some subtle prog elements that I particularly enjoyed combined with some phenomenal guitar solos and by the end of the forty-eight minutes I am ready to immediately relive the experience I have just undertaken.

Sight to Sound” track-listing:

  1. Catch Your Death
  2. Witch House
  3. Pleasure Cruise
  4. Skull Beneath The Smile
  5. Sight To Sound
  6. Truthseeker
  7. Alchemy
  8. Nightlife
  9. For The Birds
  10. Learning To Sleep
  11. Where Were You

Ben Beddick – Vocals
Andrew Mericle – Guitar
Jesse Olsen – Bass
Tyler Menon – Drums






Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

NONPOINT Release New Single “Underdog” + Music Video; Announce Tour with Black Stone Cherry this Summer! 

Continuing with the success of their new independent label, 361 Degrees Records, Nonpoint …