Home Albums Album Review: Exmortus –Necrophony

Album Review: Exmortus –Necrophony

4 min read
Comments Off on Album Review: Exmortus –Necrophony

Review by Rick Eaglestone for MPM

Los Angeles Neo-Classical extreme metal mavericks Exmortus return with album no6 “Necrophony”.

“Masquerade” begins proceedings with symphony of solos weaved into its instrumental presentation providing a great introduction for the furious gallops and frenzy wrapped up in “Mask Of Red Death”.

It’s clear to see why “Oathbreaker” was chosen as the albums lead single, it’s relentless with piercing guitar parts, mesmerising solos thunderous drum patterns and a fantastic chorus, this is followed by “Mind Of Metal” is nostalgic thrash at its core but has some great blackened undertones.

“Storms of Strings” is once again a well-presented instrumental piece that really highlights the musicianship and honestly is easily my favourite track of the elements as it has sublime classical melodies that Ygnwie Malmsteen would also adore.

Another strong contender is “Test Of Time” which has some great attributes and structure, this is followed by “Darkest Of Knights” which immediately draws you in with hypnotic guitar tones, then hooked right until the end of “Prophecy”.

The most ambitious by far which I feel really leans into the album’s aesthetic is “Children Of The Night” which is seven minutes of dark lurking shadows and smoke and if that wasn’t enough pitchforks at the ready for the assault that is “Beyond The Grave”.

There is time for one last instrumental “Overture” is certainly more melodic that its predecessors but no less technical which builds up the concluding and title track “Necrophony” which a sort of sophistication and maturity to it which really comes through in the music.

Overall, this album feels like the bands have all (excuse the pun) fed off each other to create an album that has been carefully crafted to stand among earlier releases.

A Cacophony of Classical Darkness

“Necrophony” track-listing:

  1. Masquerade
  2. Mask of Red Death
  3. Oathbreaker
  4. Mind of Metal
  5. Storm of Strings
  6. Test of Time
  7. Darkest of knights
  8. Prophecy
  9. Children of the Night
  10. Beyond the Grave
  11. Overture
  12. Necrophony

Jadran “Conan” Gonzalez – Vocals, Guitars
Phillip Nunez – Bass
Adrian Aguilar – Drums
Chase Becker – Guitars






Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Dual-bass band The Omnific release new single ‘Will-O’-The-Wisp’ 

The world's most prominent bass-driven instrumental rock act, Australia's The Omnific, ret…