Home Singles Single Review : Omnivortex – Of Aeons Past

Single Review : Omnivortex – Of Aeons Past

3 min read

Review by Tammy Lomax for MPM

Technical death band Omnivortex are due to release their second full album “Circulate” on the 29th of September.

“Circulate” is much darker, ruthless and heavier than their debut album “Diagrams Of Consciousness” and it is the first release since the band became a quartet.

The production, recording, and mixing of the album were handled by Teemu Aalto. The mastering was done by Jaime Gomez Arellano and the artwork was created by artist Petri Ala-Maunus.

The first single released “Dwells” was also the first written track for “Circulate”. Omnivortex wanted to start things off with a full throttle, no questions asked mentality thus “Dwells” suited perfectly as the album opener.

The Finnish group have recently released the second single “Of Aeons Past” which is inspired by the horror stories of HP Lovecraft and his cosmic horror stories and Cthulhu-mythos. Alongside this release is a hilariously dramatic music video and features some of the horrors in a tongue-in-cheek manner.

It’s a chomping, riffing galore, chubby track. Those riffs are a bonfire of brilliance and they reach places of pure pleasure.

The majority of it feels like blackened death metal but there’s definitely a technical margin to it all. The drums are attacking and smashing through everything causing total destruction and carnage and the vocals are brutally barbaric.

Halfway in and the atmosphere entwines into a more dark gloomy style before ending it all off with an exquisite guitar solo that is precisely sharp and very clean.

It’s an exciting year for releases and I am eager to get “Circulate” in the palm of my hands and listen to this in its full attire.

Listen to the single on music services: https://push.fm/fl/ov-ofaeonspast

Omnivortex – Circulate

  1. Dwells
  2. Transforming To Pale Mist
  3. Of Aeons Past
  4. Slumbering In Black
  5. Mechanical Motions
  6. Husk
  7. Harbingers Of Cosmic Death
  8. Endless

Mikael Reinikka – bass
Severi Saarioja – guitar, vocals
Mikko Pylkkö – guitar
Aaro Österman – drums, vocals




Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Singles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

HEARTS & HAND GRENADES (nwocr) unleash raging fire in new music video & single, new album drops January 26, 2024

Hearts & Hand Grenades are an explosive American hard rock group from Buffalo, NY, burstin…