Home News IHSAHN releases new single ‘The Distance Between Us’ (Candlelight Records)

IHSAHN releases new single ‘The Distance Between Us’ (Candlelight Records)

9 min read
Comments Off on IHSAHN releases new single ‘The Distance Between Us’ (Candlelight Records)

Ihsahn has released the final single to be taken from his forthcoming self-titled album. ‘The Distance Between Us’ introduces us to the more melancholic, spacious side of the release.

Accompanying the track is a haunting new video, a continuation of the conceptual storyline which has been spread across previous singles, ‘Pilgrimage To Oblivion‘ and ‘Twice Born‘, all filmed by Shaun Hodson at Loki Films.

New album, definitively titled Ihsahn, will be released on 16th February 2024 via Candlelight Records

Daring to push the realms of creative expressionism even further with his eighth studio offering, the Norwegian progressive metal visionary will release two melodically interlinked versions of the same album: one prog metal, one fully symphonic, both creating a cinematically-influenced masterpiece. 

Check out ‘The Distance Between Us’ below.

Pre-order and listen to Ihsahn here: https://ihsahn.lnk.to/IHSAHN 

Commenting on the new track,“The first two singles were taken from the beginning of the conceptual narrative, generating the hubris and determination required. With this last single, we’re getting closer to the end of the story and hence both music and lyrics express a more reflective and melancholic perspective.”

Whilst his musical journey has been frequently revelatory, the masterful control of rhythm and movement displayed throughout Ihsahn shows his work as a songwriter and composer at its most focused and self assured.

A gargantuan endeavour and one that Ihsahn professes to be one of the most complex projects he has ever undertaken, is a labyrinthine rabbit-hole of his own design; the scale of ambition immediately apparent.

Wholly self-produced and scored over the course of three years, the metal version has been mixed by Jens Bogren, the orchestral version mixed by Joel Dollié and both versions were mastered by Tony LindgrenIhsahn freely admits that the process pushed him to his limits. It began, simply, with a piano.

Comments Ihsahn, “On average, I´ve been releasing a full-length album every second year since I was 16. And, you know, that has given me some opportunity to explore different options, so for my eighth full-length solo record, I thought, ‘okay, how can I do what I do best, but also raise the bar tenfold? At the heart of what I do is black metal, extreme distorted guitars and screaming, but since the earliest Emperor recordings you’ll hear the keyboard parts influenced by classic soundtracks by the likes of Jerry Goldsmith, John Williams, Bernard Herrmann, John Carpenter and so on.

So, I approached the writing with the intent to present the material in its full-blown metal expression, but also to arrange the orchestral parts in such a way that they would work independently. Somehow an attempt to write a soundtrack within the structures of the full production, allowing me to explore different, and sometimes contrasting, variations of essentially the same music. In the end I wrote all the music as a piano short-score and arranged it for a typical band ensemble and orchestra, accordingly, making sure everything interlocked.”

It’s that compositional core that allowed Ihsahn to build the two records from the ground up – a Herculean feat for the self-professed, self-taught musician, but it is perhaps that very absence of formal training that allowed him to throw out the rulebook and simply follow his instincts, and the time afforded by the pandemic created the natural gap required to so heavily invest himself in the project.

That self-induced pressure came from a desire to keep his loyal fanbase and himself interested, which is not only the defining feature of his latest record, but it’s also the central characteristic of his entire solo career. 

Joining Ihsahn on this album are Tobias Ørnes Andersen and Tobias Solbakk on drums and percussion, with Ihsahn’s son Angell Solberg Tveitan adding additional percussion and violins by Chris Baum. Artwork for the album was created by Ritxi Ostariz with all promotional photography by Andy Ford

Not satisfied to only create a dual-record, there is also a conceptual story which underpins both sides of Ihsahn – a pair of separate but interwoven Wagnerian narratives revolving around the traditional hero’s journey, and while Ihsahn is reticent to tell all, he is confident that meaning will soon emerge for listeners willing to show equal commitment.  

Check out previous single, ‘Pilgrimage To Oblivion’ here: https://youtu.be/1WDCrgpKXaE
Check out ‘Pilgrimage To Oblivion – Orchestral’ here: https://youtu.be/U8muikUUz_k 

Check out previous single, ‘Twice Born’ here: https://youtu.be/aDlwCo0HNXs 
Check out ‘Twice Born – Orchestral’ here: https://youtu.be/np-OUXGKMMk

Ihsahn Tracklisting

1: Cervus Venator 
2: The Promethean Spark
3: Pilgrimage To Oblivion
4: Twice Born
5: A Taste Of The Ambrosia
6: Anima Extraneae
7: Blood Trails To Love 
8: Hubris And Blue Devils
9: The Distance Between Us
10: At The Heart Of All Things Broken 
11: Sonata Profana 

Ihsahn Orchestral Tracklisting

1: Cervus Venator Orchestral 
2: The Promethean Spark Orchestral
3: Pilgrimage To Oblivion Orchestral
4: Twice Born Orchestral
5: A Taste Of The Ambrosia Orchestral
6: Anima Extraneae Orchestral
7: Blood Trails To Love Orchestral
8: Hubris And Blue Devils Orchestral
9: The Distance Between Us Orchestral
10: At The Heart Of All Things Broken Orchestral
11: Sonata Profana Orchestral

IHSAHN online:

Ihsahn Official Website || Facebook | Instagram || Twitter | Candlelight

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Darkest Hour release new single ‘One With The Void’; new album out today! 

Darkest Hour have released their highly-anticipated tenth album Perpetual | Terminal, toda…