Home News Witherfall – Announce New Single / Video “What Have You Done?”

Witherfall – Announce New Single / Video “What Have You Done?”

8 min read
Comments Off on Witherfall – Announce New Single / Video “What Have You Done?”

Los Angeles-based dark melodic metal outfit Witherfall proudly presents the new music video for the single “What Have You Done?”. Their upcoming fourth full-length album “Sounds Of The Forgotten” will be released on May 31st 2024 via DeathWave Records.

Commenting on the track, the band explains:

“The mood pervading the ‘Sounds Of The Forgotten’ writing sessions was one of frustration and sadness. Already our current decade has seen a disproportionate amount of strife we were barely at the beginning of it. Just as we were starting to see some light at the end of the ‘plague’ then the real bogey that lurks in the shadows showed itself. We take no comfort in that the most devastating virus to plague our civilization this decade is not Covid, it is misinformation.

What Have You Done?

At the beginning of composing the song we had a feeling it was going to be the album’s closing piece. The three movements that carry you through to its musical conclusion mirrored real life for us in a profound way. The song is an ode to despair. A dark reminder that like Icarus we are all fallible and prone to misdeeds. Hopefully that light at the end of the tunnel we thought we were seeing can make its way to us and shine a light into a brighter future.

Previously Witherfall have already released the singles “Insidious”, “Ceremony Of Fire” and “Where Do I Begin”. 

Watch the music videos for all songs here

All singles be included on Witherfall’s upcoming fourth studio album “Sounds Of The Forgotten”, which will arrive on May 31st, 2024 via the band’s own label DeathWave Records.

“We found ourselves writing really depressing, melancholy songs about how just disappointed we were with all the work we put into Curse of Autumn and then going through the pandemic,” says frontman/songwriter Joseph Michael about the record. “Before that, we thought nothing was going to stop us. Then, something did. We felt a bit defeated.

So, that’s how Sounds Of The Forgotten started. But we got out of that quickly. The songs we ended up writing were empowering. We have songs with negative emotions, but the overarching theme is moving forward and perseverance. That’s the epitome of Sounds Of The Forgotten.”

Many factors influenced and inspired Witherfall’s approach to “Sounds Of The Forgotten”. The album color theme conveys another side to Witherfall’s fourth-album distress. Often associated with ambition, power, and regality, the Blake Armstrong (In Flames, Megadeth, Kataklysm, Harry Potter, Wednesday) cover art provides a view into and a visual counter to the music on “Sounds Of The Forgotten”.

1. They Will Let You Down 
2. Where Do I Begin 
3. A Lonely Path 
4. Insidious 
5. Ceremony Of Fire 
6. Sounds Of The Forgotten 
7. Aftermath 
8. When It All Falls Away 
9. Opulent 
10. What Have You Done 

Pre-order the album on Vinyl/CD and/or pre-save it digitally here:
Official Band’s Shop: https://www.witherfall.com/soundspresale
Europe/UK Presale: https://www.plastichead.com/artist/witherfall

Witherfall was formed in Los Angeles in 2013. Joseph Michael (also of Sanctuary fame) and Jake Dreyer (ex-Iced Earth/Demons & Wizards) built their new band around drummer Adam Sagan (RIP) and accomplished bassist Anthony Crawford (Allan Holdsworth, CHON). Since then, the group have released three highly regarded albums: Nocturnes and Requiems (2017), A Prelude to Sorrow (2018), and Curse of Autumn (2021) and an ep Vintage (2019). Not one to cut corners, Witherfall enlisted famed drummer Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, Steven Wilson) on Curse of Autumn, ensuring the foundations of singles “As I Lie Awake,” “The Other Side of Fear,” and “The River” were second to none. On the upcoming album, Minnemann returns to the fold with an album-only appearance, while drummer Chris Tsaganeas (Wax Owls) and multi-instrumentalist Gerry Hirschfeld (Willie Nelson) Witherfall’s newest permanent members.

Every Witherfall album is a defining moment. From the moment Nocturnes and Requiems thundered across metaldom to the group’s wine endeavors (Tempest Red Blend) with Charlie & Echo Winery, their video collaboration with Cig Neutron (Devil’s Workshop) on “The Other Side of Fear,” a beer partnership with Adroit Theory Brewing Company (Shadows Black IPA), and custom Funko Pop set, Michael and Dreyer have made Witherfall their mission. The journey to this point hasn’t been without toil and upheaval. Determination, however, is the key.

Witherfall are guitarist/songwriter Jake Dreyer, vocalist/songwriter Joseph Michael, bassist Anthony Crawford, drummer Marco Minnemann (recording only), drummer/percussionist Chris Tsaganeas, and keyboardist Gerry Hirschfeld.

DeathWave Records was created by Witherfall headmen Joseph Michael and Jake Dreyer as a vehicle for their music and other projects. Look for more exciting and trailblazing releases from DeathWave Records in the future.

Follow WITHERFALL online:
Website | Instagram | Facebook | TikTok

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

CRIMSON VEIL – present multi-faceted third single, ‘Shift,’ alongside music video 

CRIMSON VEIL continue to captivate the music community with their unique take on alternati…