Home News ELECTRIC BOYS release new single – Into The Midnight Sun 

ELECTRIC BOYS release new single – Into The Midnight Sun 

4 min read
Comments Off on ELECTRIC BOYS release new single – Into The Midnight Sun 

While waiting for more shows to happen, amidst Covid-19 years,  ELECTRIC BOYS  decided to release a couple of new tracks.

These are songs that the Swedish band recorded during the “Ups!de Down” sessions. The first one, Favorite Hello, Worst Goodbye”, was launched in February in time for the band’s performance on the Monsters Of Rock cruise in Miami.

The second one, “Into The Midnight Sun” is comin’ out on digital platforms on the 15th of April. A classic, psychedelic Bloom-riff over a hard shuffle beat, not usually associated with the band.

Another different thing is, that Martin (Thomander) and Andy (Christell) are singing lead in the verses” says the songwriter Conny Bloom.

Formed in Stockholm in 1988, ELECTRIC BOYS is a band with roots in 70s groove rock and 60s pop and psychedelia.

Their critically acclaimed debut album, “Funk-O-Metal Carpet Ride” was produced by Bob Rock (Metallica, Bon Jovi, The Cult, Mötley Crüe) and spawned the self-produced Billboard Top 20 single, “All Lips ‘N’ Hips” that got them heavy rotation on MTV.

After extensive touring, the band entered legendary studio Abbey Road to record the follow-up “Groovus Maximus”, which gave the band another Billboard Top 30 single with the song, “Mary In The Mystery World”. The third album “Freewheelin’ ‘” (also recorded in Abbey Road) peaked at #16 on the Official Swedish Album Chart before the band called it a day in 1994.

Guitarist and lead singer, Conny Bloom went solo until he, as well as bassist Andy Christell, joined the legendary Hanoi Rocks in 2005.

In 2009 they began the process of reuniting the ELECTRIC BOYS. They released the album, “And Them Boys Done Swang” in 2011 and the critically acclaimed favorite “Starflight United” in 2014.

In all the years, the band has toured relentlessly and has opened for the likes of Metallica, Alice Cooper, Mr. Big, Hardline and Thunder.
“Making albums is a strange process which I’m kind of addicted to. Going on the road however, is something different.. It’s a different rush. It’s “life” I guess. It’s what we do”. (Conny Bloom)

In 2018 the return to studio albums finally happened, with “The Ghost Ward Diaries”, a record that not only topped the charts in Sweden and Denmark, but also brought back the distinctive sound of Electric Boys to their countless fans and new listeners. Roughly three years after, “Ups!de Down”, written already under lockdown, repeated the success, but brought a broader array of songs.

“Into The Midnight Sun” will be released as a digital single on April 15, 2022.  

Conny Bloom – guitar, vocals
Andy Christell – bass
“Slim” Martin Thomander – guitar
Jolle Atlagic – drums

Digital single:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also


John Entwistle is best known as the legendary bassist for the Who. Nicknamed the Ox and Th…