Home News ENVY OF NONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “DUMB (Der Dummkopf remix)”


8 min read
Comments Off on ENVY OF NONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “DUMB (Der Dummkopf remix)”

Following the release of their debut self titled album, which charted worldwide and garnered praise from both fans and media,  Envy Of None, the new project featuring Alex Lifeson (Rush), Andy Curran (Coney Hatch), Alfio Annibalini and singer Maiah Wynne have released a new digital single ( https://envyofnone.lnk.to/DumbRMX )and lyric video for a remix of the album track “DUMB” – “DUMB (Der Dummkopf remix)”.

 DUMB (Der Dummkopf remix)”, was created collectively by Envy Of None and chosen for the remix as it had proven to be one of the band’s favourite tracks from the album. 

Envy Of None bassist Andy Curran comments on the process “The approach we took was to create a different version that also kept the spirit of the original.

The seeds of DUMB were focused around the relentless bass line that sits under the chorus. The lyrical hook was something me & Maiah co-wrote trying to have fun with the 1+1=3 line as well as the “dumb dee dumb” lines.

We always felt the song had a bit of a Euro-electronic dance vibe so on the remix we really pushed that button. Not only did Maiah add back in some her original vocal tracks which don’t appear on the original version, we added three additional drum loops, some keyboard pads and had fun with some voice samples layered in throughout the song.

Lastly we added a new intro for the song as well as an outro which Maiah created after she heard some of the first few remixes passes.

We really just had fun messing the hair up of this song while trying to keep its simple charm. But as per usual, it really was a joint effort – all 4 EONs had their fingers in the making of this pie! The video was also a blast to be part of. Hope you like it!”

Envy Of None, feature Rush’s Alex Lifeson, Coney Hatch founder/bassist Andy Curran, accomplished producer and engineer Alfio Annibalini and singer-songwriter Maiah Wynne, their self-titled 11 track debut album ricochets between various shades of alternative, experimental and synth rock, throwing surprises at every turn, twisting dark melodies against contemporary pop hooks. 


An engaging album that rewards repeat listens – Prog Magazine 
Rich in its creativity – 4* – Record Collector
It may be a new musical avenue, but Alex and co sound most appealing – 8/10 – Guitar Techniques 
Effective, modern, inspired tracks, a catchy and electro album set the bar very high! Album Of The Month – Rock Hard (Fr)
Ethereal sounding, oriental and kind of Industrial Rock – Lifeson breaks new ground – Good Times (DE) 
The songs are without exception really intriguing and surprisingly catchy. Singer Wynne and her beautiful voice are a true discovery. – Lust For Life (NL) 
Fresh sound fuelled by Alex Lifeson’s restrained guitar and newcomer Maiah Wynne’s ethereal vocals – Next Magazine (CAN)
 Something truly beautiful and unique – Ultimate Guitar  

Were thrilled so far with the response for our new record. It’ s been nice to read all the positive comments and know that people are enjoying the record as much as we did making it. Four proud EONs!”
XoXo Envy of None 

Envy Of None track listing 
1. Never Said I Love You [04:06] WATCH VIDEO (https://youtu.be/OB2DWfMYNAo )
2. Shadow [03:21]
3. Look Inside [04:44] WATCH VIDEO (https://youtu.be/QF-lfYi7DXk)
4. Liar [03:13] WATCH VIDEO (https://youtu.be/vV-IZRh22mo)
5. Spy House [02:23]
6. Dog`s Life [04:36]
7. Kabul Blues [03:12]
8. Old Strings [05:15]
9. Dumb [04:19]
10. Enemy[04:16]
11. Western Sunset [02:25]

Envy Of None’s self-titled album is out now on Kscope on the following formats. Available to ORDER HERE (https://eon.lnk.to/EnvyOfNone)

Ltd Edition deluxe version – presented in a gatefold sleeve with a blue coloured vinyl LP, 2 CDs including a 5-track bonus disc, 28 page Booklet with exclusive content. 

CD – includes a 16-page poster booklet
LP – on black vinyl / baby blue coloured vinyl (North America exclusive) / white coloured vinyl

Envy Of None are:
Alf Annibalini – Guitar, Keyboards, Programming
Andy Curran – Bass Guitar, Synthesized Bass, Programming, Guitar, Background Vocals, Stylophone
Alex Lifeson- Guitar, Mandola, Banjo, Programming
Maiah Wynne – Lead Vocals, Background Vocals, Keyboards

Follow Envy Of None:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Album Review: Pearl Jam – Dark Matter

Where to begin? How about straight up facts, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees, over 85…