Home Albums Album Review : Wig Wam’- Out of the Dark

Album Review : Wig Wam’- Out of the Dark

4 min read
Comments Off on Album Review : Wig Wam’- Out of the Dark

Review by Lydia Evans for MPM

Norway’s resident rockers Wig Wam released their newest album, “Out of the Dark”, on 10 February 2023. The group formed in 2001 in Halden, Norway, and split after four albums but reunited in 2019.

The group saw success with their track “Do Ya Wanna Taste It” as the opening theme to the HBO show Peacemaker.

This is their second studio album since their reunion. “Out of the Dark” has 11 tracks and begins with an explosive title track. Heavy and anthemic – a strong start.

It immediately set the tone for the album, and I grew more excited to listen to the rest. The third track “Forevermore” starts with haunting vocals by Glam (Åge Sten Nilsen) and unique instrumentals that give the song a Nordic, almost Viking-like charm.

The tone shifts to true glam metal style in “Bad Luck Charm”, with catchy riffs courtesy of guitarist Teeny (Trond Holter) and 80s metal style vocals by Glam. “The Purpose” is the album’s version of a ballad, with a guitar solo worthy of any 80s rock ballad playlist and lyrics I can imagine singing along to at a gig.

“79” switches things up with an instrumental track showing off Teeny’s shredding skills, with the rhythm section holding it steady thanks to bassist Flash (Bernt Jansen) and drummer Sporty (Øysetin Andersen). Very melodic, the song feels complete even without vocals and may be my personal favourite from the album.

The album finishes up with “Sailor and the Desert Sun”, another anthemic track to finish up with.
Out of the Dark is a fun listen – Wig Wam delivers a good mix of hard rock with that retro glam
metal sound.

The band is definitely out of the dark, and rockers to keep your eye on. Wig Wam will be touring Norway in March before heading to the United States for a few shows, including performing at Hollywood’s Whisky A Go Go and sailing on the Monsters of Rock Cruise in April

“Out Of The Dark” Tracklisting:

  1. Out Of The Dark
  2. High And Dry
  3. Forevermore
  4. Bad Luck Chuck
  5. Uppercut Shazam
  6. Ghosting You
  7. The Purpose
  8. The American Dream
  9. 79
  10. God By Your Side
  11. Sailor And The Desert Sun

Glam (Åge Sten Nilsen) – vocals
Teeny (Trond Holter) – guitars
Flash (Bernt Jansen) – bass
Sporty (Øystein Andersen) – drums




Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Exist Immortal release new single feat. Megan of Vexed 

UK's Exist Immortal return with an absolute beast of track, 'Higher Ground', which feature…