Home News US Metalcore quartet Drift Away release new EP

US Metalcore quartet Drift Away release new EP

6 min read
Comments Off on US Metalcore quartet Drift Away release new EP

US metalcore act Drift Away release new EP Chapter 1: Misery today. Following a video-only release on 2nd June, the latest single ‘Where The Air Stands Still’ finally hits streaming services along with the rest of the EP.

Stream Chapter 1: Misery on Spotify: https://spoti.fi/3NxQbIA

Watch ‘Where The Air Stands Still’ :below.

The new EP also includes previously released singles ‘Haunted‘ and ‘Never Really Here‘.

Vocalist Ernell Pearson comments : Chapter 1: Misery is a story about someone who loses the ones they love most and can’t bare the weight of that loss anymore. We talk about love, loss, grief, shame, loneliness, and pain a lot in the EP and it felt natural to do so, since we all went through some form of grieving process and experienced a lot of those same emotions over the course of writing this EP. 

“We hope our audience can get a chance to dive into our music and feel something a little bit more than just driven energy. We have some parts like that in here, but for us, it was about writing something that could help you dive deeper into whatever has you feeling like you’ve lost more than you can handle losing. 

“Please, start at ‘Haunted’ and work your way through these six songs. We’re super proud that this is the start we get to have and we hope you and your friends enjoy it just as much.

Originally called Oracle, American metalcore band Drift Away started in 2017 as a lunch on the north side of Portland, Oregon between five friends, years separated after their previous band called it a day. Vocalist Ernell Pearson, guitarist Bryce Kreklow, guitarist Daniel Grigg, bassist Taylor Barrett, and drummer Travis Morlan decided it was too early for them to give up on the full-length’s worth of music they had written before.

The band quickly set to work on rewriting. Soon after, Grigg left the band and the group continued on as a quartet. The following year saw the band release their debut single ‘Haunted’ as a BVTV exclusive, quickly garnering over 15,000 views and 5,000+ listeners in a matter of a few days.

As the four-piece came closer to playing live shows, the global COVID-19 pandemic quickly became much more than just a news headline and suddenly, the band had to change trajectory. Their second single ‘Never Really Here’ was released in September 2021 through BVTV and soon after, bassist Barrett parted ways with the band. The following year saw the band release a cover of Linkin Park‘s ‘Papercut’ as the remaining members completed production on their first album and quickly after, bassist Jesus “Jag” Galeana was added to the line-up.

2023 came around the corner, and the newly reformed quartet have since played two nearly sold-out shows and are now setting to release their next single ‘Where The Air Stands Still’ off of their debut EP Chapter 1: Misery.

Catch the band performing at their EP launch show:

Jun 17: Portland Star Theater

Tickets here: https://driftawayofficial.com

Chapter 1: Misery tracklisting:

  1. Haunted
  2. Where The Air Stands Still
  3. Never Really Here
  4. Cold Sweat (feat. Poetry of Moth)
  5. Don’t Make A Sound

Drift Away online:


Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Jethro Tull launch alternative mixes of latest album ‘RökFlöte’

Jethro Tull released their 23rd studio album, 'RökFlöte', back in April, and the band are …