Home Singles Single Review : ATLAS: All or Nothing

Single Review : ATLAS: All or Nothing

4 min read
Comments Off on Single Review : ATLAS: All or Nothing

Review by Paddy Gallagher for MPM

AOR tinged Melodic Hard Rock. Progressive AOR? Atlas; from Manchester, England. This is a nice surprise.

Before tonight, I’ve never crossed paths with them, but it appears this is the first track on album number 3 “Built to Last”, due for release 20th October this year. These guys have toured with The Quireboys, Praying Mantis, Eric Martin and the AOR legends FM, so even though I’ve been oblivious to their existence they’ve been moving and shaking in all the right places.

Starting off with James Thorley’s symphonic keyboard and heavy ass riffage from Howie Little, as the verse heads to the first big hook chorus, what’s immediately clear is these guys have listened to dare I say Sonata Arctica and Europe as well as the less guitar heavy tunes of the afore mentioned FM.

I’m impressed by the obvious highly skilled musicianship, and Craig Wells displays a nice wide range vocally. Some nice time changes lead to a …now that’s a tasty guitar solo; nice work Howie. Kudos to the rhythm section of Chris Redfearn on bass and Ryan Briggs on drums, their work really contributes to the whole feel of the song. Top class arrangements and fist to air inducing rhythms. What’s not to like.

Right. I’m offski to the band’s Bandcamp page to investigate more. How this one stealthily crept up on me I don’t know, but for little old me, this is exciting. It’s refreshing to stumble on a relatively new band making this kind of guitar music. Continued upward trajectory lads. You deserve it!

EAN Code: 4056813553161 Cat Number: MPR0155

1. All Or Nothing (4:09)
2. You’re Not Alone (4:24)
3. One More Night (4:15)
4. Another Heartbreak (4:09)
5. Tears (5:31)
6. Unfamiliar Love (4:25)
7. Just Like That (4:19)
8. Chasing Portraits I: Lonely Hearts (6:53)
9. Chasing Portraits II: Closer To The Picture (3:13)
10. Chasing Portraits III: Painted Memories (5:38)
11. Bury A Lie (4:47)
12. Best Is Yet To Come (5:38)


All music recorded by ATLAS
Recorded at InMotion Studios
James Thorley – Producer, Engineer, Mixer
Thomas Johansson – Mastering

Craig Wells – Vocals
Howie Little – Guitar
James Thorley – Keys
Chris Redfearn – Bass
Ryan Briggs – Drums

Sam Millar – Additional Backing Vocals

Band photo by Sam Fenton



Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Singles
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Latin Nu-Metal band SAINT DIABLO drop “Cosmic Inferno” lyric video

Saint Diablo is a brutal Latin Metalcore powerhouse known for their explosive blend of dri…