Home News Albany Down announce “Same Damn Thing” single and music video from new album “Born In The Ashes

Albany Down announce “Same Damn Thing” single and music video from new album “Born In The Ashes

8 min read
Comments Off on Albany Down announce “Same Damn Thing” single and music video from new album “Born In The Ashes

UK blues rock band, Albany Down, are pleased to announce their second single “Same Damn Thing” – taken from their forthcoming album “Born In The Ashes” released Friday 1 September 2023. The album is available to pre-order from http://shop.albanydown.com.

Released Wednesday 2 August, Albany Down’s second single, “Same Damn Thing” is available on all streaming platforms from https://hyperfollow.com/AlbanyDown.

The music video for the new single is now streaming on YouTube HERE.

“Same Damn Thing has a hint of Motown about it,” says Albany Down’s guitarist and vocalist Paul Turley. “The premise of the song is about feeling of being stuck in a rut, unable to escape your worries.”

Albany Down originally came together with some classic rock and British blues-rock influences, but with their 2011 debut album, “South of the City,” they found their own sound.

Albany Down comprises founder member Paul Turley on vocals and guitars, drummer and backing vocalist, Pete Hancock, and bassist and backing vocalist Ben Atkins. The band has recorded four studio albums with producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, INME, Super Furry Animals).

Blues Rock Review offered a fair assessment of the band and their debut album: “South of the City” is a solid debut album from Albany Down. It will be interesting to see how they develop in the coming years.”

Photo Credit: © John Bull c/o Rockrpix

In 2013 the band stepped up to the plate with 12 original well-crafted songs on their formidable second album “Not Over Yet”, including the 2013 ISC award-winning “Best Blues Song” – “You Ain’t Coming Home.” Traditionally, a band’s second album is regarded as being problematical but Albany Down turned that notion on its head, taking all that was good in “South of the City,” honing their song writing craft and revelling in Greg Haver’s powerful production.

With the release of their third album “The Outer Reach” in 2016, Albany Down won many new fans touring in the UK and The Netherlands. They were voted winners of the 2016 UK Song Writing Competition for “Best Rock Song” and “Best Music Video” for “Feeding The Flame,” and voted #5 “Best Album of 2016” by Blues Rock Review.

Photo Credit: © John Bull c/o Rockrpix

It was no surprise therefore that in 2020 they once again turned to Greg to produce their new opus “Born In The Ashes” which like previous albums has a strong “overcoming adversity” theme, inspired by those darkest days during the 2020/22 global pandemic followed by War in Ukraine, political, civil, and economic unrest. The new album was recorded at Rockfield Studios with Greg bringing together the same recording and production team as he used on all previous Albany Down albums.

“We all came to the band with different but related musical influences,” says Paul Turley.  “I wanted to build on those and write and play music that was all our own and contemporary. We enjoyed working with Greg and his team and he has undoubtedly enabled us to expand both our musical horizons and our self confidence in trying out new things.”

Photo Credit: © John Bull c/o Rockrpix

With over 12,000 fans on Facebook, fans of Albany Down agree that their live show never disappoints. The band run on pure adrenalin, unrelenting energy and raw emotion and soon have any crowd entranced. 

The music is based on Pauls thunderous guitar riffs, Pete and Ben’s pounding bass and drums juxtaposed with soulful, soaring, emotionally charged ballads.

Album Track Listing (CD and Digital)

1.  Always Want What You Can’t Have
2.  Good News
3.  Same Damn Thing
4.  The Memory of What Used To Be
5.  Reflections
6.  Born In The Ashes
7.  Darkest Day
8.  Kingdom of the Blind
9.  Don’t Look Back
10. I’ll Come Running
11. Your Days Are Numbered
12. This Heavy Soul
13. Let Your Love Shine

Album Track Listing (Vinyl)

Side A

1. Always Want What You Can’t Have
2. Good News
3 Same Damn Thing
4. The Memory of What Used To Be
5. Reflections

Side B

6. Born In The Ashes
7. Darkest Day
8. I’ll Come Running
9. This Heavy Soul
10. Let Your Love Shine



Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

The Rolling Stones return to ‘Voodoo Lounge’ for 30th Anniversary Editions 

To mark the 30th anniversary of the Rolling Stones' Grammy-winning 1994 album Voodoo Loung…