Home Singles Single Review : Monasteries- Spiralled Icon

Single Review : Monasteries- Spiralled Icon

5 min read
Comments Off on Single Review : Monasteries- Spiralled Icon

Review by Tammy Lomax for MPM

Mancunian tech-deathcore band Monasteries have released an utterly slaughtering album. Ominous is sheer brutality and I consider this to be one of the heaviest albums of 2023. It is NOT for the faint hearted so approach with caution.

Ominous was lyrically written post-Covid and was recently released via Seek and Strike Record Label. A mammoth amount of emotion and meaning is embedded within every single track.

To celebrate the launch of the album, track “Spiralled Icon” which features Jason Evans of Ingested was dropped on the same day, alongside a crushing video.

Vocalist Josh Davies mentioned that “Spiralled Icon” is one of the more heavier and brutal tunes on Ominous, he has known the Ingested guys for quite some time. He asked Jason Evans if he wanted to be a part of this release as Josh felt his style and technique would be a perfect fit.

It’s a depressing reality when we come to realise our icons have failed us, the ones we looked up to for guidance, inspiration, solace or even some type of closure. Being pushed to the curb and treated like garbage, whether that’s coming from your idols or the people we look up to in the scene, a good percentage of it is smoke and mirrors and nothing is what it seems.

This has fuelled the passion behind “Spiralled Icon” and it is the track Monasteries are most proud of.

Admittedly I was a bit naive and did not expect this kind of heavy when I put it on, it precisely popped my socks right off, pop, pop! I live for this vibe of music style. It’s a crazy, perfectly scorching, mass of total destruction and utter whole carnage.

The hefty riffs instantly chuck you straight into a battering and without a doubt, Jason’s disturbing vocal ranges elevate the whole sound ridiculously. The complexity of the layering is certainly impressive and the tones from the guitars sit in the background going absolutely bananas. The drops are positively pouring and a tonne of so much is happening, it’s all moulded to deliver only crushing intensity.

Monasteries have pushed and surpassed the boundaries of their evolved craft and have created an assortment of dynamics to their music, its fabulous darling.


1. Ominous (ENTER)
2. Final Note To You
3. Spiralled Icon Ft. Jason Evans – Ingested 
4. Orphan Halls 
5. Six Behind Bars 
6. Fatal Design Ft. Sven – Aborted 
7. H.E.A.V.Y Ft Monte Barnard – Emberthrone 
8. Reflective State 
9. Heaven Failed Us
10. Alone & Against
11. Ominous (EXIT)
12. (Bonus track) Fatal Design Ft Donovan Lee – Ritual Of Despair 

Monasteries are:
Josh Davies | Vocals
Sam Mitchell | Bass
Aaron Wright | Guitar
Craig Robertson | Guitar
Dan Hill | Drums

More info:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Singles
Comments are closed.

Check Also


So, the FOZZY road train slams into Nottingham’s, ROCK CITY, no, not the loveable Hat wear…