Home News SORCERER release Reign Of The Reaper single 

SORCERER release Reign Of The Reaper single 

9 min read
Comments Off on SORCERER release Reign Of The Reaper single 

There is no stopping the mighty SORCERER and in the autumn of 2023 the band will release their highly anticipated fourth album entitled ’Reign Of The Reaper‘.

Again not content with repeating themselves the album features some of the darkest, heaviest and most aggressive material the band has ever recorded, and at the same time some of the most lyrical and beautiful.

For a preview of the album, a video (directed by Daniel Wahlström @ Heavy Groove Media) for the title track Reign Of The Reaper can be viewed at: www.metalblade.com/sorcerer – where ’Reign Of The Reaper‘ can also be pre-ordered in the following formats:

– Deluxe Digipak-CD incl. bonus-CD ’Reverence‘
– Deluxe 2-LP incl. bonus-LP ’Reverence‘ (limited to 500 copies)
– 180g black vinyl
– dark violet marbled vinyl (limited to 1.000 copies)
– smoke vinyl (limited to 300 copies)
– silver blackdust vinyl (limited to 300 copies)

At the same location you can find the video for the first single Morning Star

SORCERER are known for their long title tracks with catchy and highly memorable choruses, and the second single ’Reign Of The Reaper‘ is no exception. Taking the listener through the realms of death and dread, this doom-laden epic with it‘s many twists and turns will crush souls, leaving metal fans begging for more darkness and despair. Anders says: “This song came about when we were looking for a title to go with the artwork. Somehow we wanted to build around the majestic appearance that Death presents on the cover. It‘s a heavy hitter and a typical Sorcerer song, heavy, melodic with many different parts and the solos are extraordinary. The song is simply epic, just as we like it”. In the end we all will sing the song of the Reaper.

’Reign Of The Reaper‘ will be released on the 27th of October by Metal Blade Records and features eight brand new tracks guaranteed to appease the appetites of metal heads from all sides of the Heavy Metal spectrum.

Since their rebirth in 2010, through a string of amazing live performances, signing to Metal Blade Records and releasing three excellent metal albums, SORCERER have been firing on all cylinders with no plans of stopping for anyone.
’In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross‘ (2015) put everything into motion; with its classic epic doom metal approach it solidified SORCERER‘s triumphant return to the scene. The follow-up, 2017‘s ’The Crowning Of The Fire King‘, gave fans that extra dose of Epic they craved, while also allowing the band to begin to reform and reshape their sound and direction. It was here that SORCERER really laid the foundation on which they are still building – making heavy, melodic metal with crushing riffs, soaring vocals and hook-laden choruses.

2020 saw the band release what would be their most elaborate album to date, the concept album ’Lamenting Of The Innocent‘. This record allowed the band to test new waters with more elaborate, intricate songwriting, longer song forms and it features vocalist Anders Engberg at his absolute finest. The album was highly praised, and very well received, and has allowed the band to grace the stages of some of the most prestigious metal festivals and venues around the world.

For ’Reign Of The Reaper‘ the band holed up in their home studios and wrote music all through 2022 and then once again headed to SolnaSound Recording in Stockholm, the studio owned, run and operated by Simon Johansson (Wolf, Soilwork) with Mike Wead (King Diamond) assisting, to record the drums.

SORCERER likes to work with a small, tried and trusted team so therefore they once again employed the services of Ronnie Björnström (engineering/mixing/ mastering) and Jani Stefanovic (cover art for the singles & artwork booklet/packaging design); these guys have been working with the band since the first album and as per usual they delivered superbly.

The striking album cover artwork was created by Swedish artist Joakim Ericsson. Conny Welén as usual handled co-production duties. Anders says: “He has been working with us since 2015 and the reunion album In The Shadow Of The Inverted Cross. Connys contribution to our sound is heard in every song; he is involved in the arrangements and plays all keyboards”.

He also co-writes the vocal melodies and the foundations of some of the lyrics and on top of this he also recorded Anders‘ vocals in his studio. Photographer Marieke Verschuren provided the awesome band photos as she also did on the previous album.

Track listing:
1 Morning Star
2 Reign Of The Reaper
3 Thy Kingdom Will Come
4 Eternal Sleep
5 Curse Of Medusa
6 Unveiling Blasphemy
7 The Underworld
8 Break Of Dawn

Sorcerer line-up:
Anders Engberg – vocals
Kristian Niemann – guitars, backing vocals
Peter Hallgren – guitars, backing vocals
Justin Biggs – bass, growls
Richard Evensand – drums

Since recording the album drummer Richard Evensand has left the band and been replaced by Stefan Norgren.

Sorcerer live:
17/11/23 DE – Würzburg – Hammer of Doom Festival
10/02/24 PL – Goleniow – Rampa Kultura
20/04/24 DE – Lünen – Lükaz

Sorcerer online:


Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT Reveals Music Video for Album Title Track “Embers”

Following previously-released single, "Falling Leaves", and its accompanying video, today,…