Home Singles Single Review : Big Wolf Band – Living On Borrowed Time 

Single Review : Big Wolf Band – Living On Borrowed Time 

5 min read
Comments Off on Single Review : Big Wolf Band – Living On Borrowed Time 

Review by Taf Rock for MPM

Big Wolf Band are Living On Borrowed Time as the Midlands based UK Blues Band of the Year nominees release the second single from their forthcoming album Rebel’s Journey due to be released April 19th.

A blues band at heart the band aren’t afraid to rock out as demonstrated on this track (co-written with rhythm guitarist Justin Johnson) which explores a subject many listeners will be all too familiar with – the dark battle with depression, a struggle frontman Jonathan Earp himself can relate to. The darkness and confusion surrounding the subject matter in complete contrast to the lively upbeat nature of the composition itself.

Rocking out from the off Mick Jeynes bass and Tim Jones drums lay down a powerful rhythm section that gets the head nodding and the feet tapping. Jonathan’s bluesy guitar licks to the fore before the opening lyric ‘In the darkness I saw a light’ sets the scene.

My heart is empty I can’t take no more’. Zoe Green’s delightful backing vocals ‘stop dark thoughts intruding’ whilst Robin Fox is superlative on keys, his talents on the ivories – a key feature of the Big Wolf Band sound – evident throughout the entirety of this track none more so than during the exhilarating keyboard solo at the midpoint of this single.

Jonathan follows up with an impressive lead guitar break, the frontman’s solo a shining light permeating the prevailing darkness guiding the listener through the murky shadows recalled throughout this track.

On the evidence of this and the previous single ‘Empire And A Prayer‘ 2024 is gearing up to be quite some year for Big Wolf and their ever-increasing army of followers. The band need have no fear of Living On Borrowed Time as they celebrate a decade since the formation of the band. April 19th will mark a key milestone in the band’s history when Rebel’s Journey is unleashed in its totality upon a keen and hungry pack of listeners.

Become one of the pack – catch Big Wolf Band throughout 2024 at venues across the UK as they continue the Rebel’s Journey tour. 

Rebel’s Journey – Track Listing

1. Empire and a Prayer (3:57)
2. Valley of the Fallen Kings (5:58)
3. Lay it on the Line (3:48)
4. Rise Together (4:06)
5. Six Strings Loaded (4:19)
6. Black Dog Blues (6:07)
7. Standing in the Rain (7:24)
8. Living on Borrowed Time (3:46)
9. Got Me Reeling (4:32)
10. Crazy Love (3:32)
11. Darker Side of You (4:40)
12. Just a Little Bit    (5:26)
13. Too Many Times (4:20)

Rebel’s Journey 2024 Tour Dates

Tickets: www.bigwolfband.com/tour-dates



Photo by Richard Bell

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Singles
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Swedish Cinematic Rock Outfit THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Inks Record Deal with Napalm Records 

Napalm Records is thrilled to announce the signing of acclaimed Swedish rock force THE NIG…