Home News EXHORDER – releases new album ‘Defectum Omnium’ + new video for ‘Wrath Of Prophecies’ 

EXHORDER – releases new album ‘Defectum Omnium’ + new video for ‘Wrath Of Prophecies’ 

13 min read
Comments Off on EXHORDER – releases new album ‘Defectum Omnium’ + new video for ‘Wrath Of Prophecies’ 

NOLA thrash legends EXHORDER have released their long-anticipated new album, Defectum Omnium, today with Nuclear Blast Records.

Sonically unrelenting, the band’s 4th record in a career spanning nearly 4 decades is classic EXHORDER. Revisiting their early influences of punk, hardcore and thrash, the band self-produced 12 merciless tracks that sound as vital as when they first carved their groove in metal in 1985.

Featuring crushing songs like ‘Year of the Goat‘ and ‘Forever and Beyond Despair‘ and ominous cover artwork by Travis Smith (KatatoniaOpeth), Defectum Ominum finds EXHORDER at the top of their game with one of the year’s most vicious records.

Vocalist/guitarist Kyle Thomas has said of the new record:

It’s been quite a journey for Exhorder since the 2019 release of Mourn the Southern Skies. Line-up changes as well as the 2020-2021 pandemic and lockdown presented hurdles that weren’t easy to overcome. But we persevered, kept our heads down and went to work with intense focus and real goals. One of those goals was to bring our fourth full length album to our fan base.

Defectum Omnium is a collaborative effort in songwriting, much as it was in the early days of Exhorder. We produced it ourselves, as we felt no need or desire to bring in anyone from the outside based upon our shared vision. It was also important to us not only to continue the natural progression this band has been in since the early 90’s, but to put a foot back into our roots.

The influence punk and hardcore had on this band from getting our start in the New Orleans punk rock scene has a strong presence. We’ve also made sure to keep plenty of our thrash roots as well in our songwriting process. 

But we have also managed to keep our doom roots alive, which first surfaced on the song (Cadence of) the Dirge back in 1992. In fact, on one new song we have guest appearances by Rick Wartell and Bruce Franklin from Trouble, and they absolutely killed it! 

From the time that we began pre-production until the actual release date, we can promise you that every bit of Defectum Omnium was crafted with great care, and we are really excited about it! Our goal was to make an album that WE loved and gives the experience of a journey.

With today’s record release, EXHORDER has unveiled a new video for their next standout track, and album opener ‘Wrath of Prophecies‘.

Thomas adds on the new single:

Our third single, Wrath of Prophecies, is the opening track on Defectum Omnium. It is the oldest song title on the album, dating back to 2009. However, it was never truly completed as a song, though it did have its own line of merchandise at the time.

Lyrically, it is a nod to the prophecies of Nostradamus, which were much more prevalent topics at that time based upon what many people felt were predicted end times. Regardless, it fit right into the overall theme of despair and hopelessness that Defectum Omnium embodies. Musically, it is a fierce and unrelenting thrasher.

With the vocals committing to the song as soon as the entire band kicks in, “Wrath of Prophecies” grabs you by the throat right out of the gates. It is obvious and evident that there is something the listener must pay attention to, or turn away and play ostrich. Lacing melodies in with venomous, spitting aggression, this song is a feature example on this album of our commitment to returning to our roots, and not just the punk ones.

Purchase/Stream Defectumm Omniumhttps://exhorder.bfan.link/defectum-omnium
Wrath of Prophecies music video below.

Defectum Omnium Tracklisting:
01. Wrath of Prophecies
02. Under the Gaslight
03. Forever and Beyond Despair
04. The Tale of Unsound Minds
05. Divide and Conquer
06. Year of the Goat
07. Taken by Flames
08. Defectum Omnium / Stolen Hope
09. Three Stages of Truth / Lacing the Well
10. Sedition
11. Desensitized
12. Your Six

Formed in 1986, EXHORDER‘s journey has proven exciting, yet tumultuous. After a twenty-seven-year absence following their final Roadrunner Records release in 1992, EXHORDER re-entered the game with an album considered by many to be a contender for the “Best Comeback Album” category. The band released Mourn the Southern Skies in October of 2019 through Nuclear Blast Records.

Fraught with euphoric peaks and crippling valleys throughout its existence, line-up changes, and the 2020-2021 pandemic, EXHORDER has since clawed back through the muck to prepare yet another album to add to the discography.

In the spring of 2024, EXHORDER presents yet again via Nuclear Blast their fourth full-length recording, Defectum Omnium,  the Latin phrase for “The Failure of All”. Singer Kyle Thomas wryly explains that the album title is representative of the current state of affairs that the world is in. “The world is a dumpster fire, and we are all complicit.”, he explains. “People have been talking about, ‘…viruses killing us off, blah-blah, blah…’, when in actuality WE are the virus to the Earth. Mother Nature is simply trying to shake off the fleas, and her ‘viruses’ are the antibodies combating US.

Earth will survive, and we will join the dinosaurs, woolly mammoths, and saber-toothed tigers soon enough in her history.”

Produced by EXHORDER and mixed by Jens BogrenDefectum Omnium puts a foot back into the roots of the band’s inception.

The scales have tipped favorably towards the presence of punk and thrash more so than on Mourn the Southern Skies. Tracks like ‘Wrath of Prophecies‘, ‘Forever and Beyond Despair‘, and ‘Sedition‘ are what EXHORDER comes by most honestly when referring to their beginnings. There is also a strong presence of doom influence, as always.

The Tale of Unsound Minds‘ and the haunting ‘Defectum Omnium/Stolen Hope‘ will raise utter despair from the depths of your soul. The thick New Orleans grooves EXHORDER has been known for beating out since day one are still undeniable, and they stand out in tracks like ‘Year of the Goat‘, ‘Under the Gaslight‘, and ‘Three Stages of Truth/Lacing the Well‘. 

One trait about Defectum Omnium that deserves to be pointed out is that it is more of a journey and experience than just a regurgitated selection of songs on autopilot.

With peaks and valleys much like a roller coaster ride, one listener described the album as having “…a little something for everyone.”. As EXHORDER has always been hard to classify by one genre, the album is loaded with heaviness, aggression, speed, and venom.

It also has an equal presence of mystery, melody, and harmony, and vacillates between darkness and light. Themes that dart back and forth between surviving oppression, despair, revolution, and brittle hope take you through the band’s madness by way of the musical path that they have forged.

With touring plans underway in support of Defectum OmniumEXHORDER finds itself poised to finally achieve the brass ring potential that has always seemed to be just out of their reach.







Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

CRIMSON VEIL – present multi-faceted third single, ‘Shift,’ alongside music video 

CRIMSON VEIL continue to captivate the music community with their unique take on alternati…