Home News AUTOGRAPH : ‘Beyond’ : new album by legendary hard rockers out 18.11.22 via Frontiers

AUTOGRAPH : ‘Beyond’ : new album by legendary hard rockers out 18.11.22 via Frontiers

6 min read
Comments Off on AUTOGRAPH : ‘Beyond’ : new album by legendary hard rockers out 18.11.22 via Frontiers

Frontiers Music Srl made an announcement at the end of January 2022 to welcome the legendary ’80s hard rockers Autograph to their label roster.

The band, featuring vocalist Simon Daniels, guitarist Jimi Bell, bassist Randy Rand and drummer Marc Wieland, were close to wrapping up work on a brand new studio album at the time.

Founder member Rand delivered the final masters and artwork for the record, to be entitled ‘Beyond’, around Easter and was discussing its release with the label when he received some news about his health. Shockingly, he died just a few days later.

Having imparted to his bandmates that he wanted them to press ahead with plans to release what has become his last recorded work should anything happen to him, it is with bittersweet emotion that Frontiers can announce that ‘Beyond’ will be issued on 18th November. A single and video for the song ‘This Ain’t The Place I Wanna Be’ is available from today.

Autograph, whose hit song ‘Turn Up The Radio’ is a hard rock staple, disbanded in 1989. However, founding members Rand and Steve Lynch (guitar) eventually met up at a music convention in California over two decades later and rekindled their personal friendship before even thinking about a possible band reunion.

Once they did, Rand recalled that “we approached our original singer, Steve Plunkett. He didn’t have the time to rejoin due to his busy schedule, but did give us his blessing to move forward, which was important.”

The duo subsequently discovered YouTube videos of singer/guitarist/songwriter Simon Daniels (Jailhouse, Flood, 1RKO) and instantly sensed a connection. 

He was perfect to front Autograph,” stated Rand. “His hard-edged, bluesy voice and massive riffing sharpened our edge. He impressed us immediately and we all had a euphoric feeling after the first rehearsal. He gave us new energy.”

The bassist also imparted that he had only loved playing with two drummers. One was the late, great Randy Castillo, while the other is current Autograph drummer Marc Wieland. “We’re heavier than before. At the same time, the melodic vocals and catchy hooks are still an integral part of our sound.”

Lynch left the group in 2019 to pursue different musical styles and was replaced by monster shredder Jimi Bell (House of Lords, Maxx Explosion). The band didn’t skip a beat and went on to record ‘Beyond’ prior to Rand’s untimely passing.

The platinum-selling Californian band have previously released seminal albums such as ‘Sign In Please’ [1984], ‘That’s The Stuff’ [1985] and ‘Loud and Clear’ [1987]. They have also played shows with the likes of Mötley Crüe, Ronnie James Dio, Van Halen and Aerosmith.

Touring again since 2014, they have shone at arenas, club shows and at major festivals such as M3, Monsters of Rock Cruise, The Moondance Jam, 80’s in the Park, Grand Rock Tember, Cat Club Festival and Firefest UK.

In 2017, they released a new album on ex-Megadeth member David Ellefson’s EMP Label Group, hitting the Top 20 on the Billboard Classic Rock Sales Chart as well as placing two new singles on the top 10 Hard Rock Mediabase Radio Chart.


1  This Ain’t The Place I Wanna Be
2  Your Slave Tonight
3  Everything
4  Gotta Getcha
5  Take Me Higher
6  Run For Your Life
7  Beautiful Disaster
8  Love Is A Double Edge Sword
9  Heart Of Stone
10  Feels So Good
11  Flying High
12  To Be Together
13  Mind Of Fear (bonus track – digital only)

Randy Rand – bass
Simon Daniels – vocals
Jimi Bell – guitar
Marc Wieland – drums


Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also


Returning with a big bang, the alternative sister-trio from Monterrey, Mexico, The Warning…