Home News New DELAIN line-up announce new album & single/video

New DELAIN line-up announce new album & single/video

8 min read
Comments Off on New DELAIN line-up announce new album & single/video

Like a phoenix from the flames, metal masters DELAIN have recently returned with a new line up, setting off into a new era.

The multi-million streaming, leading outfit now set the stage for their eagerly awaited next studio album, Dark Waters, set for release on February 10th, 2023 via Napalm Records.

Emerging as a brand new start and safe haven alike, Dark Waters, without any doubt, continues the legacy of the brainchild of keyboardist, founder and main songwriter Martijn Westerholt and contains everything DELAIN is loved for and more.

The album is a sonic rollercoaster ride of catchy tunes with explosive elements, ranging from pop to film score-inspired to blistering, room-shakin’ metal – and even with a special guest or two.

Brand new single “Beneath” perfectly showcases the incredible talent and musical sophistication of new vocalist Diana Leah.

The track also boasts guest singer Paolo Ribaldini. Along with a stunning music video, “Beneath” takes the listener into a sinister underworld of the deep. Modern, synth melodies mix with hook-filled classical passages and ominous riffs throughout the song.

Martijn Westerholt comments, “’Beneath’ is a perfect ambassador of the album and DELAIN as a whole because it encapsulates almost all of the recognisable DELAIN elements you will find on the album!”

Watch the official music video for “Beneath” here or by clicking the thumbnail below.

Joining Martijn Westerholt, original guitarist Ronald Landa and original drummer Sander Zoer return to the fold bolstering DELAIN’s continuity, while new members – Diana Leah and bassist Ludovico Cioffi – continue to evolve their sound.

Songs like the previously shared, standalone new single The Quest and The Curse as well as “The Cold” (the latter featuring an epic choir), lure with a bombastic sound that skilfully combines orchestral melodies, crushingly heavy riffs, and soaring vocal performances. DELAIN never loses touch with their characteristic sound, celebrating consistency without stagnation.

Pop-infused opening track “Hideaway Paradise” shows exactly that, inducing a dream-like feeling that flirts with melodic metal guitars, while the ballad-like dark earworm “Mirror Of Night”, guest features none other than Within Temptation guitarist Ruud Jolie“Queen of Shadow” merges the orchestral and synth-focused soundscapes DELAIN is known for. 

Tainted Hearts” is centred around Westerholt‘s keyboard arrangements, skilfully showcasing the creative roots of the group’s mastermind. “Invictus” is nothing less than the Magnum Opus of the album – a rock opera in its own right with heavy riffs, choirs, and vocal parts performed by Diana Leah, Paolo Ribaldini, and Marko Hietala (ex-Nightwish), closing with a unified, jaw-dropping climax.

Martijn adds, “This album captures all elements DELAIN is known for – our distinctive heavy guitar riffs, massive orchestral parts, both heavy metal and pop vocals, rock opera vibes along with 80s synth sounds. In short, this is definitely a recognisable DELAIN album that contains classic ‘DELAIN elements’ while also moving forward with fresh influences. 


Dark Waters Tracklisting:

Hideaway Paradise
The Quest And The Curse
Mirror Of Night
Tainted Hearts
The Cold
Moth To A Flame
Queen Of Shadow

Dark Waters will be available in the following formats:

2-LP Gatefold (Black)
2-CD Digisleeve + Shirt Bundle (Napalm shop only)
2-LP Gatefold Marbled Blue/Black/White – limited to 300 copies worldwide (Napalm shop only)
Wooden Boxset incl. Digisleeve 2CDs (Regular Album + Instrumental Album), 1-CD Slipcase with Orchestral Album, Coasters (6pcs), Flag, Band Picture Postcard – limited to 500 copies worldwide (Napalm shop only)
Digital Album

The talented group return to the UK for live shows in April 2023, performing the following two dates:

Tickets are on sale now. The full tour itinerary currently includes:

DELAIN Live 2023

14.04.23 NL – Tilburg / 013
15.04.23 NL – Haarlem / Patronaat
21.04.23 UK – Manchester / Academy 2
22.04.23 UK – London / O2 Islington Academy
24.04.23 LU – Luxembourg / Rockhal
24.04.23 FR – Paris / Le Trabendo
27.04.23 CH – Zurich / Komplex 457
28.04.23 DE – Munich / Backstage Halle
29.04.23 DE – Stuttgart / Im Wizemann Club
30.04.23 DE – Berlin / Hole44
02.05.23 DE – Hamburg / Knust
03.05.23 DE – Essen / Turock

DELAIN have been sharing their signature, catchy, melodic sound worldwide for over two decades now. Enchanting fans with their most well-known hits like “We Are the Others” or “April Rain”, the rockers have racked up millions of Spotify streams and video views.

With six albums already under their belt, DELAIN have charted multiple times all over the world with acclaimed records like Apocalypse & Chill and Hunter’s Moon.

The band traversed the globe with acts including SabatonNightwish and Within Temptation, complemented by stellar performances at the biggest European festivals like Wacken, Graspop, Download, Bloodstock, and many more. DELAIN have firmly carved their name in the metal scene and triumphantly embark on this exciting next voyage. 


Martijn Westerholt – keyboards
Diana Leah – vocals
Ronald Landa – guitars and backing vocals
Ludovico Cioffi – bass and backing vocals
Sander Zoer – drums

Photo Credit: Andrea Falaschi]




Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

NEW YEARS DAY drop title track from their forthcoming ‘Half Black Heart’ album

NEW YEARS DAY have shared the title track from their upcoming studio album, Half Black Hea…