Home Albums Album Review : Lordi ” Screem Writers Guild

Album Review : Lordi ” Screem Writers Guild

5 min read
Comments Off on Album Review : Lordi ” Screem Writers Guild

Review By Jordonna Lobese for MPM

Lordi’s soon to be released Screem Writers Guild is a corpus of spooky sound effects, dark lyrics, graceful melodies, and catchy chorus lines.

Strong keys, soul-touching guitar solos, gruff lead vocals, and blended backing vocals culminate into one horrific spooktacular package.

References to werewolves, dracula, vampires, and sound effects of owls and crows off in the distance add to the illusion of either being on the set of The Rocky Horror Picture Show or locked inside of Disney’s Haunted Mansion, a dark ride attraction and walk through show. 

Pure ghostly entertainment. The commitment to the lyrics, sound effects, and overall theme of the band’s ‘own horror cinema’ is hair-raisingly delightful from beginning to end. 

The sound is an oxymoron in and of itself, as it sounds mysteriously spine-chilling, yet simultaneously uplifting.

Screem Writers Guild consists of 14 tracks of sheer terror starting with Dead Again Jayne (Track 1), which displays some fast-paced finger work by Kone (guitar) and attention getting keys by Hella.  “Jane, ringing you back is all in vain,” Mr. Lordi screeches. 

The lyrics refer to a girl attracted to another guy.  Maybe the follow up will be on Crime Watchers.  mmmm. 

SCG XVIII:  Nosferuiz Horror Show (Track 2) sounds like the album intro, which lasts about a minute and is followed by Unliving Picture Show (Track 3). This song showcases phenomenal drum (Mana) and bass (Hiisi) coordination and blending skills.  Inhumanoid (Track 4) is a fun, spirited song that takes you on an adventure.  “Engineered to destroy.”

Thing In The Cage (Track 5) and Vampyro Fang Club (Track 6) both have prominent intros, which make them album standouts. 

They both create an atmosphere of being at a 1920’s haunted circus.  The Bride (Track 7) is deliberately slow with cryptic lyrics:  “If you cross me, there’s one thing you should know. 

The blood will flow.”  Remarkable guitar solo.   Lucyfer Prime Evil (Track 8) is a pleasant experience about an unpleasant experience.  Enough said.  This song coincides with a lyric video drawn by Kaarle and edited and scripted by Mr. Lordi (vocals, costume designer, makeup/comic/graphic artist extraordinaire).  End Credits (Track 14) is another favorite simply because it is the most personal for Mr. Lordi himself.  The lyrics are the deepest yet, because he tells of his life story.

Screem Writers Guild, the band’s eighteenth studio album, is their best yet; perhaps due to the guitar solos by newest member, Kone, who is an avid Iron Maiden fan. 

The guitar solos are distinctively individualistic. Congrats on the position and hopes for many more to come! 

Screem Writers Guild« – Track Listing:

01. Dead Again Jayne
02. SCG XVIII: Nosferuiz Horror Show
03. Unliving Picture Show
04. Inhumanoid
05. Thing In The Cage
06. Vampyro Fang Club
07. The Bride
08. Lucyfer Prime Evil
09. Scarecrow
10. Lycantropical Island
11. In The Castle Of Dracoolove
12. The SCG Awards
13. Heavengeance
14. End Credits

The album drops on March 31st, 2023, via Atomic Fire Records, The New Home of Heavy Metal and distributed by Warner Music.

Pre-order now: https://lordi.lnk.to/screemPR

LORDI online:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

NEW YEARS DAY drop title track from their forthcoming ‘Half Black Heart’ album

NEW YEARS DAY have shared the title track from their upcoming studio album, Half Black Hea…