Home News Hail The Sun release video for new single ‘Maladapted’ 

Hail The Sun release video for new single ‘Maladapted’ 

6 min read
Comments Off on Hail The Sun release video for new single ‘Maladapted’ 

Californian rock quintet Hail The Sun have released a video for their new single ‘Maladapted’. The track is the third single from their upcoming album Divine Inner Tension, due for release on 11th August via Rude Records (UK/EU) / Equal Vision Records (ROW).

Check out the video for ‘Maladapted’ below.

Stream ‘Maladapted’ here: https://hts.lnk.to/maladapted

Pre-order/pre-save Divine Inner Tensionhttps://hts.lnk.to/divine

‘Maladapted’ carries the through line for which Divine Inner Tension is thematically based. The track is an exercise in letting go, simply relinquishing whatever control one has to surrender to a power greater than themselves. This feeling is one of the most liberating and empowering emotions that frontman Donovan Melero has ever experienced.

“Through this fight for control my whole life, I have experienced intense OCD for as long as I can remember,” Melero says. “My mind is on endless loops. And a therapist put it best a couple of years ago – that it was a maladaptive way to give me the illusion of having control over things I didn’t. Purely noise. A distraction. Letting go brings an even greater sense of relief when I can get to that mindframe and do it.

Helmed by notable producer Kris CrummettDivine Inner Tension finds the veteran rock band questioning what it means to be here and to be alive, on both a micro level – where the importance of our existence is profound and paramount – and on a macro one – where our time on this planet is nothing but irrelevant and insignificant.

One of the main epiphanies California’s Hail The Sun had when making this new album was understanding that inspiration didn’t have to come from a place of despair, and letting go of the idea that an artist needs to be tortured in order to create.

Instead, the band looked beyond the viscerally emotional to the more spiritual and even enlisted the help of Ice Nine Kills’ Joe Occhiuti, who is also involved with vocalist DonovanMelero‘s Kill Iconic Records, on a number of tracks. 

On the album, Melero admits: “This is the first album we’ve written that didn’t come exclusively from a place of suffering or pain. Sadness, heartbreak and nihilism all inspire, but during the pandemic, there was a big shift, and this is more about retelling the story – retelling stories about everyday perceptions.

Everything comes from within, so I thought that maybe I don’t have to suffer to feel inspired.”

Hail The Sun have also announced a run of US headline dates, set to take place in July and August. Support will come from Being As An OceanKaonashi, and Origami Button. Head to Hail The Sun‘s website for full dates and tickets: https://hailthesun.com/

Track list:

1. Tunnel Vision Alibi
2. Mind Rider
3. Chunker
4. 60-Minute Session Blocks
5. Maladapted
6. The Story Writes Itself
7. (In My Dream)
8. I Saw You Hanging
9. Tithe
10. Feeble Words
11. Little Song
12. Under the Floor

Hail The Sun are:
Donovan Melero: Vocals
Aric Garcia: Guitar 
Shane Gann Guitar
John Stirrat: Bass
Allen Casillas: Drums

Find the band online:

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT Reveals Music Video for Album Title Track “Embers”

Following previously-released single, "Falling Leaves", and its accompanying video, today,…