Home News Escuela Grind announce new LP 

Escuela Grind announce new LP 

5 min read

USA extreme metal powerhouse, Escuela Grind, will release their new LP, Dreams on Algorithms, on 18th October via MNRK Heavy (High on FireZakk Wylde, etc). 

Recorded at Salem, Massachusetts’ GodCity studio with producer Kurt Ballou, and mastered by Nick Townsend (Dr. DreBetty Davis) the record is the highly anticipated follow-up to Escuela Grind‘s celebrated 2022 full-length debut, Memory Theater, a recording hailed as “an opus of extremity” by The New York Times

Pre-order/save Dreams on Algorithms here: https://escuelagrind.ffm.to/dreamsonalgorithms

In sync with the album announcement, Escuela Grind today have dropped their new single + video, ‘Turbulence’, which showcases clean vocals over an earworm chorus – a first for the group –  without pulling away from unhinged brutality.

Stream the video, directed by Zack Perez for Astral Media, below.

“It will be immediately obvious when you first hear this song that it is a departure for us,” offers vocalist Katerina Economou“We wanted to take a risk with ‘Turbulence’, and after performing so many live shows over the last year we were ready to compile all that influence. 

The clean singing may take some people off-guard coming from a grind/hardcore band, but after touring with Napalm Death, we realized we wanted to incorporate that aspect into our music in a similar way. We definitely wanted a grungy, catchy chorus to sing at all of our upcoming festival appearances, and I hope the fans like the song as much as we do.

The album announcement was preceded by the release of the single ‘Always Watching You’, track two on Dreams on Algorithms. Watch the video below

“Most of ‘Always Watching You’ was written in a practice space by Jesse and Krissy, and refined during soundchecks we had over the year,” details Economou“I’ve had this desire to write a song where I could portray the obsessive-stalker-girl archetype through lyrics for a while.

Although not physically threatening, it’s really interesting that society is so terrified of this stereotype. In ‘Always Watching You’, I wanted this fantastical, Nightmare on Elm Street-style imagery that was rooted in the gore and horror of death metal. Themes of parasocial relationships, anxieties from social media, and an omnipresent algorithm are strongly observed in this song and throughout the entire album.”

Dreams on Algorithms track listing:

   1.) DOA
   2.) Always Watching You (stream VIDEO)
   3.) Constant Passenger
   4.) Moral Injury
   5.) Concept of God
   6.) Animus Multiform
   7.) Scorpion
   8.) Planned Obsolescence
   9.) Toothless
 10.) Turbulence (stream VIDEO)

For more information on Escuela Grind:
Facebook || Website || Twitter || Instagram || MNRK Heavy

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also


So, a three-band night ahead of me I arrive at the venue with time to spare. Before too lo…