Home Albums Album Review: Amorphis – Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live at Tavastia) – Concert Footage

Album Review: Amorphis – Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live at Tavastia) – Concert Footage

5 min read

To Celebrate three decades of their genre defining second album Finland’s Amorphis have released a special live version of Tales From The Thousand Lakes recorded at the world famous Tavastia which also includes a full live performance which I will be discussing here.

Review by Rick Eaglestone for MPM

Rerecording and performing a landmark album can be a tricky task to navigate as there are varying factors to consider such a change of musicians along the way and can a newer version capture the atmosphere of the original?

Well, the short answer is yes as Amorphis manage to build the bridge from their musical roots to their contemporary iteration whilst still managing to keep the timelessness of their music and tightly woven Finnish landscapes and lore part of their enduring musical legends.

Performing a landmark album in its entirety, front to back in the chronological order, is an extraordinary moment. The blue tones are prominent and rightly so as each track shimmers with spellbinding Northern beauty and the vigour of a present-day metal show.

The iconic instrumental “Tales From The Thousand Lakes,” set to aerial shots of the Finnish wilderness, the stormy opener “Into Hiding,” the unforgettable classic “Black Winter Day” or “Magic & Mayhem” take us back in time while firmly holding tight to the here and now.

There are some wonderful bonus additions such as bringing it back to where it all began with the blistering delivering of sheer death metal “Vulgar Necrolatry” and the wonderful musician highlighting on the near nine-minute opus “My Kantele” which provides fans (who may have various editions) something else to further enjoy.

“It was an interesting yet confusing experience”, vocalist Tomi Joutsen says of the era of streaming concerts. “On the one hand we just did what we had done hundreds of time before. On the other I felt very nervous, because at that point we were lacking the routine of playing live.” Seeing this band revel in one of the great all-time classics of heavy metal doesn’t make you realize that. And what’s more: For Joutsen and AMORPHIS, it was also a much-needed remedy in dire times. “It was a good reminder for all of us of just how great it feels to play music together as a band.” And now get that show on the road.

Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live at Tavastia) is a tightly delivered celebration of both past and present.

Amorphis – Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live at Tavastia) track listing

  1. Thousand Lakes
  2. Into Hiding
  3. The Castaway
  4. First Doom
  5. Black Winter Day
  6. Drowned Maid
  7. In The Beginning
  8. Forgotten Sunrise
  9. To Father’s Cabin
  10. Magic and Mayhem
  11. Vulgar Necrolatry
  12. My Kantele


Tomi Joutsen – Vocals

Esa Holopainen – Lead Guitar

Tomi Koivusaari – Rhythm Guitar

Santeri Kallio – Keyboards

Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass

Jan Rechberger – Drums





Load More Related Articles
Load More By darren@metalplanetmusic.com
Load More In Albums
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Exist Immortal release new single feat. Megan of Vexed 

UK's Exist Immortal return with an absolute beast of track, 'Higher Ground', which feature…