Home News GUN blast both barrels with new double single; instores announced

GUN blast both barrels with new double single; instores announced

10 min read
Comments Off on GUN blast both barrels with new double single; instores announced

Scottish rock squad GUN blast both barrels today, offering fans a new double single – boisterous rock banger “Lucky Guy” and the colossal earworm “Falling“, taken from their upcoming, hot new album Hombres, due out April 12th, 2024 via Cooking Vinyl.

Declared “some of their best songs since Gallus!” by Iron Maiden’s Steve Harris, Hombres is the first album of all new music from the group since 2017’s Favourite Pleasures, which entered the UK official album chart at #16.

Discussing “Lucky Guy”, vocalist Dante Gizzi comments, “The song is about a time I had celebrating my birthday in Los Angeles. Having the opportunity to be playing in Gun at that point ,and also at such a young age, it was one of the most surreal and amazing experiences I’ve ever had. I felt like I was the luckiest guy in the world. It’s a reminder that sometimes, the memories we create and cherish in our lives are the greatest gifts anyone can ever have.

Regarding the origins of “Falling“, Dante explains, “Falling was a song idea that initially came from Jools. I remember him showing me the chords and the melody, and in an instant, I totally got it! I totally fell in love with the idea and he knew that. Whenever this situation happens I have to ask him to leave me to it so I can piece it together the way I hear it in my head, which he wholeheartedly agreed upon. For me, the most important factor of the song was how to make it build the right way. I got so into it, it took just a few hours to finish the demo version which doesn’t really differ that much from the album version.” He concludes, “Probably my favourite song on the album!”

Both tracks are available on all streaming platforms here.


The thirteen tracks on ninth studio effort Hombres were recorded and produced by Simon Bloor (Trevor Horn) with mixing by Daryl Thorpe (Foo Fighters). The record boasts guest vocals from Beverley Skeete (Elton John, Chaka Khan, Tom Jones, Johnny Cash), Mary Pearce (Primal Scream, Lionel Ritchie, Chaka Khan) and Sarah-Jane Skeete (Robbie Williams, Kylie Minogue, Bill Wyman) of The Sisterhood on several tracks, as well as a guest performance on the drums from Joe Lazerus of Twin Atlantic.

The album is available in multiple formats as both standard and deluxe editions, including fully signed, on CD, vinyl, cassette, and digitally.

Pre-order now here

For an exclusive, limited Blood Records vinyl variant, click here. Bundle orders from the band’s official webstore will include a bonus Live At The Barrowlands CD while stocks last.

Hombres track list

Standard edition

  1. All Fired Up
  2. Boys Don’t Cry
  3. Take Me Back Home
  4. Fake Life
  5. Falling
  6. You Are What I Need
  7. Never Enough
  8. Don’t Hide Your Fears Tonight
  9. Lucky Guy
  10. A Shift In Time

Deluxe edition

  1. Coming Back To You
  2. Wrong To Be Right
  3. Pride

GUN have recently announced nine UK instore events, where fans can meet Dante Jools from the band, get their new copy of Hombres signed, and watch a special, stripped back performance.

Eager fans have been getting an early sneak peek of some new songs live, with the band undertaking a number of intimate gigs to preview Hombres through February and March. There are also some select Scottish dates with both teatime and evening performances once the album’s out in April. Tickets are on sale now for all events via https://gun.tmstor.es/.

* doors will open at 5pm for the matinee performance and 8pm for the evening, with the band expected onstage approximately an hour later for an hour-long set.

GUN are busy lining up further live dates for 2024, with Maid Of Stone and Firevolt festivals already announced for the summer.

Formed in Scotland by guitarist Giuliano “Jools” Gizzi, GUN have achieved 3 UK Top 20 albums and 8 UK Top 40 singles over their lauded career. GUN has toured extensively over the years, criss-crossing the globe with The Rolling Stones, Black Star Riders, The Cult, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Bon Jovi, and more, not to mention a slew of memorable festival sets at everything from Steelhouse to Download to Wacken. 2024 looks set to rack up even more miles in fine fashion.

The rock ruffians latest release was 2022’s collection of acoustic reworkings, The Calton Songs, which delighted fans and brought further chart success, clocking in at #2 on the Scottish album chart, #6 on the UK indie chart, and #13 on the UK physical albums chart. GUN also received two awards in November 2022; the band was honoured with the Rock Legend award at Hard Rock Hell in Great Yarmouth and the Hard Rock Café Legends award at the Scottish Music Awards, the flagship event for the Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy charity.

Besides the release of new record Hombres on April 12th, 2024 also marks the 30th anniversary of GUN’s silver-certified, third album Swagger, which stormed into the official UK album chart at #5 and spawned 4 UK Top 40 singles including smash-hit cover “Word Up” (#8), “Don’t Say It’s Over” (#19), “The Only One” (#29), and “Something Worthwhile” (#39). Their boisterous version of Cameo’s “Word Up” also earnt the group their first MTV Europe Music Award.

GUN’s current lineup consists of original members Dante Gizzi (vocals) & Giuliano “Jools” Gizzi (guitar) along with Paul McManus (drums), Andy Carr (bass) and Ruaraidh “Roo” Macfarlane (guitar).

Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In News
Comments are closed.

Check Also

GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT Reveals Music Video for Album Title Track “Embers”

Following previously-released single, "Falling Leaves", and its accompanying video, today,…